« PreviousContinue »
GUIDE TO THE BROOKLYN NAVY YARD. The Brooklyn Navy Yard was established in chor chains and rigging loft, coppersmiths, 1801, when the first land was bought from John plumbing shop and boiler shop. Jackson for $40.000. The Yard comprises 213 Building No. 7, on Warrington av., contains acres, situated on a little bay in the East River various departments In it are the Civil Erknown as Wallabout channel, the conformation gineer's room, and flag loft, where all flags api of the shore giving it a water front of nearly two bunting used by our Navy, as well as flags e miles. The main entrance, at Sands and Navy other nations, are made by women. Most of these sts., is reached by the Flushing av, cars, and was women are the widows of men who lost their opened in the Summer of 1896. The new official lives in the service of their country. Other buildentrance is more imposing than the old one at ings on this avenue are the blacksmiths' shop. York st., and in addition to two towers, a gate. paint shop, yard and docks, construction deparikeeper's lodge and a guard house stands on each
ment and steam engineering department. The side of the entrance.
avenue ends in a park. Lieut. Jonathan Thorne was the first command On Morris av, are a joiners' shop, offices, boalant and inclosed the Yard with a fence in 1827. house and plating shops. The frigate John Adams was the first vessel The water front of the Navy Yard is protected built in this Yard, and the Maine, which was by a substantial sea wall of granite about blown up in Havana harbor, was the last vessel miles in length. The Cob Dock is an artificial constructed here. In 1815 the Fulton, the first island, separated from the main Navy Yard by steam war vessel, was built at the Yard after Wallabout channel, and contains 6% acres. This plans prepared by Robert Fulton. The first dry territory was reclaimed from the East River by dock was begun in 1841 and completed ten years filling in with earth, and is now used for storage later at a cost of about $2,000,000. It is estimated purposes.
New barracks are to be built on this that the government has spent over one billion tract to accommodate several housand marines. dollars in this Yard and the property now there is The ordnance dock is also here and comprises valued at over $500,000,000.
124 acres. Moored to the Cob Dock is the reThe Navy Yard is open daily, <cej Sundays ceiving ship "Vermont," with a regular crex, and holidays, from 8 A. M. to 5 P. M., when any. and a detail of officers who live on board. one may enter and inspect the place. Passes to enlistments to the Navy are made on board, both visit the Yard must be obtained by letters ad for seamen and for apprentices. The Cob Dock dressed to the “Captain of the Yard." They is reached by means of a chain ferry from the must be used on date indicated and do not include main part of the Yard. permission to visit ships in commission. Permis There are three dry docks along the Wallabout sion to visit vessels must be obtained from their channel, known as Stone Dry Dock No. 1, Timber commanding officers. A "Special"' pass is neces Dry Dock No. 2 and Timber Dry Dock No. 3. sary to visit the Yard on Sunday, but is seldom first is the oldest as well as the smallest an! issued.
best. The next in size is No. 2, while No. 3 is The western half of the yard, where the princi
said to be the largest dry dock in America. pal offices, docks, storehouses and foundries are
Around these dry docks are eighteen-foot railway located, is laid off in well paved streets at right
tracks, on which two fifty-ton lifting cranes angies to each other. Main st. extends from the
travel. They are designed for lifting armor plate main gate to the water front. Passing the guard
weighing from twenty to forty tons, stepping steel house the first building at the left is the Com masts, hoisting machinery and boilers and lov. mandant's residence. Visitors are not admitted ering them into place on the ships while they are within this enclosure. The Lyceum, or Com
in the docks. mandant's office, is a three-story structure, On
The spacious marine barracks and drill yard are the ground floor are the offices of the Captain of
located along Flushing av., the main entrance bethe Yard, and on the second floor, offices of the ing on Flushing av. Here all marines for the Commandant and his Aides, and on the third Navy are received from the recruiting stations floor, the examination and court martial room. throughout the country, drilled, uniformed and Here the records of the Yard are preserved, in-equipped for service, wherever they may be needed. cluding such as pertain to ships, lists of officers, The long two-story building in the barracks is and rosters of all clerks and the employes,
occupied by the marines while in the Navy Yard. Trophy Park, a triangular green plot adjoining Flushing av., while some of them live in private
Most of the senior officers are quartered the Commandant's office, is filled with relics. Here
houses in the city. is located the marble column commemorating twelve American seamen who fell at the capture
The only department outside the enclosure, but
controlled by the Commandant of the Navy Yard, of the Barrier Forts, on Canton River, China, in
is the Naval Hospital on Flushing av., sepa 1856. It is a niarble shaft and was erected by
rated from the Yard by Wallabout Market. their shipmates on the San Jacinto, Portsmouth
high wall also surrounds this department. In the and Levante. About the monument are guns cap
hospital enclosure is the Naval Cemetery, where tured from the British frigate Macedonian and the
marines are buried. iron prow of the Confederate ram Mississippi. In front of the Commandant's othce are two 512
Among the improvements contemplated for 1900 inch rifled guns on the carriages which they op
and 1901 are two stone dry docks, a stone and
iron bridge across Wallabout channel, two piers cupied when they were taken from the two vessels of Admiral Cervera's fleet, destroyed off Santiago Yard, new buildings, among which will be
in Whitney Basin, many railroad tracks about the Harbor by Admiral Sampson's fleet during the Spanish-American war. The one gun-shield shows
mammoth machine shop, to take the place of the where a shell from one of the American warships
one destroyed by fire early in 1899. passed through it, tearing the mechanism of the gun behind it to pieces, and killing the Spanish OFFICERS AND HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS. gunners who happened to be there at the time. At the left of these guns are several Spanish con
Commandant-Rear Admiral John W.
Philip: tact mines, taken from the waters about Cuba.
Senior Aid to Commandant, Commander Clifford
H. West. A small octagonal building, west of Trophy Park, is the office of the Naval Surgeon, and captain of the Yard; Lieut. Commander J. u. H.
Captain of the Yard's Office--Capt. Frank Wildes, beyond that is a building for provisions and clothing In the latter is cut out by machinery all
Nickels, Assistant, the clothing used in the Navy, except that worn
Equipment Office-Commander H. N. Manney. by officers.
Equipment Officer; Lieut. Commander L. C. HellThese garments are then sent out to
ner: Lieut. John T. Newton, Assistant. be finished. In this building and adjoining it
Ordnance Office Commander Wm. Swift, Inspecare stored clothing, canned goods, and marine tor of Ordnance; Lieut, Commander John Hubbard, supplies-usually amounting to over a million dollars in value. It is in one of these buildings | Dover, N, J.
Assist.; Chief Gunner C. Dugan, Powder Depot. that all the coffee used by the Navy is roasted, ground, put up in tins, and all canned goods, hard charge; Lieut. F H. Sherman, Assist.
Inspection Board--Commander W. C. Gibson in tack and condensed goods are received here from
Labor Board-Commander 1. B. Speyers. the wholesale houses.
| Surgeon of the Yard-Medical Inspector J. A. The work-shops. machine-shops and foundries Hawke, Surgeon of the Yard; P. A. Surgeon A. R. are on Chauncey, Warrington and Morris avs. On 11fred. Assist.: Pharmacist Samuel Englander. Chauncey av. are the cooper shops, mould shop, Varal Hospital-Medical Director G. W. Woods ordnance building, tank shed, a building for an in charge; P. 1. Surgeon R. K. Smith, P.
GUIDE TO THE BROOKLYN NAVY YARD-Continued. Surgeon C. F. Stokes, Assistant Surgeon W. M. Smith in charge; Lieut. R. T. Hall, Lieut. G. E. Wheeler.
Burd. Naval Laboratory and Dept. of Instruction Chaplain-Chaplain R. E. Steele. Medical Director T. C. Walton in charge; P. Naval Constructor's Office-Naval Constructor F. A. Surgeon G. T.
Smith, Pharmacist G. H. T. Bowles, in charge;. ist. Naval Constructor Klcck.
H. G. Smith, Assist Naval Constructor R. M. General Storekeeper's Office-Pay Director Edwin Watt, Assist. Naval Constructor D. H. Cox, Putnam, General Storekeeper; John A. Mudd. As
Civil Engineer's Office--Civil Engineer P. C. sistant Paymaster.
Asserson, in charge; Commander A, B. H. Lillie. ray Office-Pay Inspector H. T. Wright in Civil Engr. E. P. Goodrich, Civil Engr. L. M. Cox. charge; Chief Carpenter P. T. Ward.
Marine Barracks-Capt. J. E. Mahoney, comPurchasing Paymaster-Pay Director H. M. Den- manding. niston, Stewart Building. New York.
Medical Examining Board-Medical Director H. Clothing Factory-Paymaster H. E. Drury, in J. Babin, Surgeon N, H, Drake. charge.
U. S. R. S. Vermont--Capt. Merrill Miller, comChief Engineer's Office-Commander J. A. D. manding
THE DEWEY CELEBRATION. Discussion of plans for a proper reception to the General Slocum with the municipal commitAdmiral Dewey upon his return to this country tees, the Mount Hope with the municipal assen. began in the summer.
Early in August, 1899. bly, the Warwick with the heads of the city de the Municipal Assembly passed a joint resolution partments and guests, and the Matteawan with authorizing Mayor Van Wyck to appoint a com visiting officials and representatives of the press. mittee of one thousand representative citizens as Following the revenue cutters were, in two cola general committee to arrange for and carry umns, nearly two hundred yachts, headed by Sir into effect the details for the welcome to Admiral Thomas Lipton's Erin. At 3 o'clock the Olympia Dewey. This committee was appointed, and, in anchored off Grant's tomb. As she came to anaddition, an executive committee was appointed, chor salutes were fired from the land and the the chairman of which was Gen. Daniel Butter Olympia answered. The rest of the procession field. This executive committee appointed the sub-countermarched around the Olympia and procommittees, and the chairmen of the sub-commit- ceeded down stream, disbanding at the Battery. tees were ex-officio members of the committee on
THE FIREWORKS DISPLAY plan and scope. These sub-committees, with their onairmen, were: Reception committee, William
At 7 o'clock there was a fireworks display on C. Whitney; committee to confer with national land at Mount Morris Park, Union square, City and State authorities, Admiral John W. Philip;
Hall, intersection of Southern Boulevard and Concommittee on land parade and decorations, Major: course, and in Brooklyn at the Brooklyn Borough veneral Charles F. Roe; committee on shipping.
Hall. There were also displays at the Court House harbor decorations and water parade, General
in Long Island City and on Barron Hill, Staten
Island. Howard Carroll; committee to arrange railroad
On the water a fleet of lighters was and steamboat rates, John H. Starin: committee started simultaneously from Grant's Tomb in the on printing and badges, George C. Clausen; com
North River and from Ward's Island in the East mittee on press, Herbert F. Gunnison; committee River, On their way to the Battery they sent up on erection of stands, John P. Kane; committee rockets and golden fire. At the Battery they united on refreshments, Randolph Guggenheimer; audit- with a fleet of ten lighters and the displays were ing committee, Bird S. Coler.
repeated on a larger scale. Admiral Dewey spent The Committee on Plan and Scope immediately the night at the Waldorf - Astoria. began to plan the details for the reception of the
THE MILITARY PARADE. Admiral. Arrangements were made for a mam
At 8.30 on Saturday Admiral Dewey, escorted by moth land parade, for a water parade, for the pres- Troop A, was driven to the City Hall Park. Here entation to the Admiral of a loving cup on behalf Mayor Van Wyck presented to him a loving cup of the City of New York, while fifty of the lead
on behalf of the City of New York. The cup was ing sculptors of the world volunteered their time of solid gold and was made by Tiffany; it cost and labor for the erection of a Dewey triumphal $5,000. From the City Hall Park the Admiral was arch, which should be a masterpiece and a fitting driven to Claremont, where the military procession memorial to the Navy of the United States.
was forming. At 12 o'clock the procession started, The programme as prepared by the Committee ied by the Admiral and Mayor Van Wyck and the on Plan and Scope embraced part of Thursday,
members of the Reception Committee and the Plan September 28, when it was expected that the 40-and Scope Committee in carriages. This parade miral would arrive, all of Friday and all of Sat
was one of the most remarkable military displays urday, September 29 and 30. The naval parade was
ever seen in the City of New York, Over 100.000 set for Friday and the land parade for Saturday. The Admiral somewhat disarranged the plans Guard of the State of New York, regiments from
men were in line. Practically all of the National of the committee so far as his formal reception all of the Eastern States and from Western States by the Mayor was concerned by arriving on Tues
as far as Ohio were in line. day, September 26. Early in the morning of that first time since the Civil War, were to be seen
In addition, for the day the Olympia and was soon at anchor in the lower bay. On troops from South Carolina, Virginia, Georgia and
Texas. Friday at 9 o'clock Mayor Van Wyck, Gen. But
There were also in the parade Governors terfield and the members of the Plan and Scope parade swung into 5th av. at 59th st. and marched
of over thirty of the States of the Union. The Committee paid an official visit to the Admiral | down 5th av. to Washington sq., where it aboard the Olympia.
disbanded. Admiral Dewey at the "Dewey" Arch THE NAVAL PARADE.
took his position in the reviewing stand and re
viewed the parade. At 1 o'clock Friday the naval parade started. THE DEWEY TRIUMPHAL ARCH. The Olympia, leading, started up the North River to the accompaniment of whistles, bells, salutes,
The Dewey Arch, at 24th st, and 5th av., through
It and wild cheering upon the shores. Following the which the pa rade passed, was a masterpiece. Olympia were the armored cruiser New York, the
was constructed on the lines of the Arch of Titus, armored cruiser Brooklyn, the battleships Indiana,
with four piers, bearing symbolic figures, person
War, Massachusetts, Kearsarge and Texas: the gun ating Patriotism,
the Return and Peace. boats Marietta. Annapolis and Nashville; the tor- | Portrait figures of eight of the nation's naval pedo boats Gwin, Mackenzie, Talbot; the training heroes before the war with Spain surmounted the ship Constellation, the coast defense ship Amphi- allegorical groups. The names of the heroes repretrite, the dispatch_boat Dolphin, the converted sented were John Paul Jones, Stephen Decatur, yachts Penacook Eagle, Yankton the transport Isaac Howe, Oliver Hazard Perry, McDonough, Resolute and the naval tug Uncas. Following Farragut. Porter and Cushing. The arch was rethe ships of the navy were representatives froin inforced by a line of columns extending on either the United States Army transport service and all side of the avenue from 23d st. north and beyond the revenue cutters on duty in New York harbor the arch to 25th st. and nearby ports on the Atlantic coast. Abreast At 8 P. M. there was a smoker at the Waldorfof the Olympia were the Sandy Hook, bearing the Astoria for the sailors of the Olympia. On Monday Mayor and the official guests, the Glen Island and Admiral Dewey went to Washington,
THE PARIS INTERNATIONAL EXPOSITION. The dawn of the twentieth century will be government, and 20,000,000 francs by the city of fittingly celebrated by the Great International Paris, while 60,000,000 francs represent the net pro Exposition to be held in Paris, France, from ceeds of the emission of 3,250,000 bonds of 20 April 15 to November 5, inclusive. The site will francs each. The bonds bear no interest, but each comprise the public grounds on both sides of the is redeemable in tickets of admission to Seine from the Place de la Concorde, the great the Exposition Grounds and entities the holdmonumental square in the very center of the
tickets, In lieu of interest city, to a point beyond the Pont d'Iena, embrac- holder participates in 29 drawings, comprising ing the Champ de Mars, the Trocadero Palace 4,313 prizes, aggregating 6,000,000 francs.
Sis and Park (site of the exposition of 1889). the drawings occurred in 1896, six in 1897, six in 1866 Esplanade des Invalides, the Quai d'Orsay, the and six in 1899, and there will be six monthly drawQuai de la Conference, the Cours la Reine, and ings during the exposition.
a large section of the Champs Elysees, includ To the contemporary exposition will be joined ing the site of the Palais de l'Industrie, the great retrospective centennial exposition reviewing building erected for the Exposition of 1855.
the progress accomplished since 1800 in various The palace of the Trocadero erected for the branches of production. exposition of 1878 and used a second time in 1889 A series of International Congresses will also will be utilized with modifications in 1900. The take place in Paris during the Exposition, where Eiffel Tower with new features will be preserve all prominent men in letters, sciences and arts of ed. The Fine Arts and the Liberal Arts Halls will world renown will be invited to meet. be permanent structures.
The space to be occupied by the exposition is The first international exposition in Paris was about 360 acres. Of this amount the French goyheld in 1855, second in 1867, third in 1878 and ernment has allotted about 60 per cent. for all fourth in 1889. In July, 1892, the official initia-other nations, reserving about 40 per cent. for tive was taken toward the establishment of the themselves. The space secured for the United 1900 exposition in a formal communication from States is about 222,000 square feet. M. Roche, minister of commerce and industry, The main entrance to the exposition will be loto President Carnot. Over 100,000,000 francs ($20. cated at the extreme northeast corner of the 000,000) was provided as a guaranty fund, of grounds, at the place where the Quai de la Conwhich 20,000,000 franes was appropriated by the I ference adjoins the Place de la Concord. This
THE PARIS INTERNATIONAL EXPOSITION-Continued. monumental entrance to the exposition takes the agriculture. forestry, liberal arts and navigation form of a triumphal arch, surmounted with a have been erected. The Fourth of July, 1900, will frontal bearing the arms of the City of Paris, be "United States Day" at the Paris Exposition. which serves as a pedestal for a colossal statue On that day the United States will unveil its of Liberty. The two friezes on either side of the gift to France from the school children of this arch represent workmen carrying the produce of country, a statue to the memory of General Latheir labor to the exposition. By an ingenious fayette. The children of the public schools of device the ticket office to this main entrance is the United States have contributed in pennies arranged to admit 60,000 persons per hour.
and nickels for this monument $50,000 and by a On the Quai which extends along the north bank law passed by Congress the United States mint of the Seine are two art palaces, which are is now coining fifty thousand silver souvenir dolknown as the Great and the Little Palaces of lars to be known as the "La Fayette Dollar," Fine Arts. They cost about $4,500,000 and will re which will be used in erecting this tribute to the main as permanent embellishments to the City great French patriot. of Paris. The Grand Palace will be utilized dur The members of the United States Commising the exposition as the Palace of Fine Arts. sion are: Ferdinand W. Peck, Commissioner GenThe masterpieces of fine arts of the century and eral; B. D. Woodward, Asst. Commissioner Genthe productions of the last decade will be housed
eral; Frederick Brackett, Sec.; F. J. V. Skiff, in this palace. In the smaller building will be Director in Chief of Exhibit Departments and displayed the retrospective exhibition of art.
Director of Mines and Metallurgy: Francis E. Across the Seine, joined by the new Alexander Drake, Director of Machinery and Electricity: III bridge, lies the Esplanade des Invalides. This
Willard A. Smith, Director of Transportation and tract extends from the Seine to the Hotel des
Civil Engineering; Charles Richards Dodge, DiInvalides, and here is located the great building
rector of Agriculture; John B. Cauldwell, Director of General Manufactures. This building is the of Fine Arts; Howard J. Rogers, Director of Edlargest at the exposition and in architectural de ucation and Social Economy; A. S. Capehart, sign most elaborate,
Director of Liberal Arts and Chemical IndusNear the Manufactures Building is the Educa tries; Dr. Tarleton H. Bean, Director of Fortion Building and numerous minor structures. On estry and Fisheries; M. H. Hulbert, Director the south bank of the Seine is the Quai de Orsay, of Varied Industries; Louis M. Howland, Diin which are the pavilions of all foreign nations, rector of Customs; Paul Blackmar, Director of also the Army and Navy Building. On the north Affairs; John H. McGibbons, Director of Exbank of the Seine are located the building of ploitation: Charles H. Simms, Assistant Director Horticulture, also of Agriculture. In the Trocadero of Liberal Arts and Chemical Industries; Lieut.grounds are the colonial exhibits, both of France Com. A. C. Baker, U. S. N., Assistant Director and other nations. The building devoted to elec
of Transportation and Civil Engineering; Dr. W. trical industries is located across the River Seine
S. Ward, Assistant Director of Mines and Metalfrom the Trocadero Parl. In this building is the lurgy: James s. Anthony, Assistant Director of huge central generating plant with thousands of Machinery and Electricity: Henry G. Kittredge, motors distributed all over the exposition in every Assistant Director of Textiles; Henry B. Snell, department, and the exhibit of electrical machin
Assistant Director of Fine Arts: J. M. Allen, ery and the thousand and one inventions to which Assistant Director of Affairs; A. H. Mattox, Press electricity has been utilized.
Representative; Robert J. Thompson, Sec., LaTo the west of the court on which stands the fayette Monument Commission. The headquarPalace of Electricity are the buildings devoted to ters of the Commission are the Auditorium HoChemical Industries, Transportation and Civil
tel. Chicago. and the N. Y. office 120 Broadway. Engineering, Liberal Arts and Instruments, Let NEW YORK STATE AT THE PARIS EXPOters, Arts and Forestry.
SITION. On the east side of this same court is the Ma
In December, 1898, Gov. Frank S. Black appointchinery Building, the buildings of Mines and Min-ed the following honorary commission to repreing, of Navigation, and the Textile Building, sent New York State at the Paris Exposition of
American electricians will be much in evidence 1900. This commission was authorized by a law at the Exposition and it is estimated that the passed by the Legislature of 1898. The commismanufacturers of American electrical machinery 1 sion is as follows: Emil Twyeffort, New York City; will expend over one million dollars in their ex Mrs. Marie Etienne Burns, New York City; Lud. hibit. American artists, too, will be well repre wig Nissen, Brooklyn: Norton P. Otis, Yonkers; sented, and the products of the earth, agricultural, Urban Weldon, Cohoes; Albert E. Bonesteel, horticultural, forestry, fisheries, food stuffs, tex: Troy; Dr. Clarkson C. Schuyler, Plattsburgh; Mrs. tile fabrics, placer mining and metallurgy will Mary Harrison McKee, Saratoga Springs; Henry all receive complete attention from American A. Phillips, Lowville; Thomas R. Proctor, Utica; exhibitors. The United States will also have an Mrs. N. W. Metcalfe, West New Brighton; Edimmense department of hygiene and one of public ward G. Wyckoff, Ithaca; Lamotte H. Blakely. and organized charities.
Lyons; Horace C. Brewster, Rochester; William Two and a half acres of ground have been made L. Marcy, Buffalo; G. E. Spring, Franklinville. along the banks of the Seine. The gardens and ter
The officers are Norton P. Otis, Pres.; Wm. M. races on both sides of the river will be utilized for Griffith, Sec.; Ludwig Nissen, Treas. The comexhibits. The United States will have the largest mission, with offices in the Bowling Green Buildand most important display of any foreign nation. ing. Manhattan, N. Y. City, serves without comAll along the River Seine will be one of the most
pensation, and its duties are to encourage and interesting features of the Exposition, the "City
promote exhibits of the artistic, commercial, inof All Nations." Situated on the Quai d'Orsay,
dustrial, agricultural and other interests in the close by the National Pavilions of Austria and State at the Exposition, and provide for comfort
and convenience of citizens of the State. Turkey, rising with dome-like effect almost two hundred feet above the Seine, will be the National
The Legislature of 1899 appropriated $40,000 toPavilion of the United States. Work on this su
ward defraying the expenses of the commission perb structure was done under the supervision of
and $10,000 for the representation of the educa
tional interests of the State. Assistant Commissioner General to the United
The further sum
of $10,000 was also appropriated as a contribution States Commission E. D. Woodward, and the architects, Charles A. Coolidge of Boston and
on the part of the State of New York to the LaMorin Goustiaux of Paris. On the ground floor,
fayette memorial monument, facing the River Seine, is an immense porch, something like an Arch of Triumph, adorned with Co
Comparative Statistics. rinthian columns crowned with the Goddess of Liberty on the Chariot of Progress. An equestrian
New York. London. statue of George Washington surmounts a pedes Police Force.
15,500 tal upon the level of the Corinthian columns and Excess of women
22.275 189,900 a bust of President McKinley occupies a niche
Places of worship
1,612 over the door. Every visitor who walks to the
Newspapers and periodicals. 1,390
876 other National Pavilions in this City of All Nations will have to pass under this large main en
Families earning less than 75 trance to the United States Pavilion. In the cen
cents a day..
5,125 327,200 ter of the building is a great hall, about 160 feet,
One inhabitant seeks charity covered by the great dome, the interior of which out of each
13 is decorated with historic paintings.
Densest population pery Annexes for the United States exhibits in
THE MILITARY OF THE STATE. The National Guard and Naval Militia of the , (detailed from the Naval Militia), Lieut.-CoinState of New York numbered on January 1, 1900, mander Samuel Dana Greene, nearly 14,500 officers and men. The National Major-General Roe's staff includes the following: Guard, organized as a division of five brigades, Colonel S. H. Olin and Lieut.-Col. Frederics comprises fifteen regiments, five battalions and Phisterer, Assistant Adjutants-General; Colonel a company of infantry, four batteries of artiilery, Nelson H. Henry, Surgeon; Colonel Edward M. one squadron and one troop of cavalry and four Hoffman and Lieut.-Col. William Cary Sanger, signal corps. During the past year forty-two of Inspectors; Lieut.-Col. Nathaniel B. Thurston an. the forty-three separate companies of the State Major William M. Kirby, Inspectors of Sm.. (all except the 17th) were formed into these regi
Arms and Ordnance Officers: Lieut.-Col, John Be ments and battalions:
gart, Engineer; Lieut.-Col. William W. Ladd, Jr., First Regiment-3d, 4th, 5th, 10th, 11th, 14th, Judge Advocate; Lieut.-Col. John 1. Holly, Quar 15th, 16th, 20th, 23d, 24th and 333.
ter master; Lieut.-Col. G. Hurry, Commissary of Second Regiment-6th, 7th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st. Subsistence; Major Fred. T. Leigh, Signal Streer 22d, 31st, 320, 36th, 37th and 46th.
Major L. M. Greer and Major J. B. Hollanl. First Battalion--13th, 25th, 29th, 42d and 43d.
Aides-de-Camp. Second Battalion-1st, 8th, 34th and 47th.
The members of the several brigade staffs are: Third" Battalion--2d, 30th, 41st and 48th.
First Brigade-Lieut. Col. Henry s. Clark, As. Fourth Battalion-27th, 28th, 39th, 40th and 44th.
sistant Adjutant-General; Lieut.-Col. W. E. LamThe National Guard organizations are brigaded bert, Surgeon; Major Newbold Morris, Inspector as follows:
Major Schuyler Schliefflin Inspector of Small Arms
Practice and Ordnance Officer; Major Frank B. First Brigade-Brigadier-General McCoskry Butt,
Keech, Engineer; Major Herbert Parsons, Judge commanding; headquarters, Central Park West
Advocate; Major R. T. Varnum, Commissary of and 59th st., Manhattan, N. Y. City; 9th, 12th and Subsistence: Captain James W. Gerard, Jr., arc 22d regiments of infantry and 1st battery of Captain Francis L. V. Hoppin, Aides-de-Camp. artillery.
Second Brigade--Lieut.-Col. John B. Frothing Second Brigade-Brigadier-General James Mc
ham, Assistant Adjutant-General; Lieut.-Col. Leer, commanding: headquarters, Hall of Records, George R. Fowler, Surgeon: Major W. E C. Brooklyn, N. Y. City; 13th, 14th, 23d and 47th
Mayer, Inspector; Major J. W. Tumbridge, Engiregiments of infantry. 3d battery of artillery. neer; Major E. V. Grout, Judge Advocate; Major Troop C. 2d signal corps and 17th separate com Peter H. McNulty, Quartermaster; Major Charles pany of infantry, located at Flushing in Queens. W. Tracey. Commissary of Subsistence: Major T.
Third Brigade-Brigadier-General Robert Shaw H. Babcock, Inspector of Small Arms Practice Oliver, commanding: headquarters, Albany: 1st and Ordnance Officer; Captain John H. Shults, and 2d regiments and 4th and 10th battalions of Jr., and Ernestus Gulick, Aides-de-Camp; Major infantry, 6th battery of artillery and 3d signal
Francis D. Beard, Attached Officer. corps.
Third Brigade-Lievt, -Col. Harry C. Cushman, Fourth Brigade-Brigadier-General Peter
Assistant Adjutant-General; Lieut.-Col. Herman Doyle, commanding: headquarters, 474 Main st.,
Bendell, Surgeon; Major George P. Hilton,
InBuffalo: 65th and 74th regiments and 1st, 2d and
spector, and Captain John P. Treanor, Assistant 3d battalions of infantry and 4th signal corps.
Inspector; Major Alfred H, Renshaw, Engineer:
Major Charles J. Fifth Brigade-Brigadier-General George Moore Major Charles H Gaus, Inspector of Small Arms
Buchanan, Judge Advocate; Smith, commanding: headquarters, 71st regiment Practice and Ordnance Officer: Major Horace G. armory. Manhattan, N. Y. City: 7th, 8th, 69th and Young, Quartermaster: Major Charles G. Clemin71st regiments of infantry and the 2d battery of shaw, Commissary of Subsistence; Captain Guy artillery,
E. Baker, Aide-de-Camp: Supernumerary Officer To the headquarters of the National Guard,
on duty, Major James H. Manning, which is commanded by Major General Charles Fourth Brigade-Lieut-Col. Lauren
PetteF. Roe, are attached Squadron A and the 1st signal bone, Assistant
Adjutant-General; Lieut.-Col. corps. New York City headquarters are located Floyd s. Crego, Surgeon; Major C. M. Ransom, at 280 Broadway, Manhattan.
Inspector; Major George J. Metzger, Engineer: The Naval Militia of the State is included in a Major Martin Carey, Judge Advocate; Major John Naval Brigade which comprises the 1st and 20 H. Ball, Quartermaster: Major Henry C. Wadenaval battalions, five divisions each, located in
worth, Commissary of Subsistence; Captain Theo. Manhattan and Brooklyn, one separate division dore B. Sheldon, Aide-de-Camp. attached to brigade headquarters, and one
Fifth Brigade-Lieut.-Col. Thomas J. O'Donoseparate division in Rochester. The
1st bat-hue, Assistant Adjutant-General; Major Putnam talion is quartered on the New Hampshire at the B. Strong, Inspector; Major Elmore F. Austin, foot of E. 28th st., Manhattan, and
the 2d Engineer; Major William Ives Washburn, Judge at the foot of 55th st., Brooklyn. The Naval Advocate; Major Charles E. Warren, Inspector of Militia headquarters are: Captain, Jacob W. Mil.
Small Arms Practice and Ordnance Omcer: Capler, commanding: headquarters, foot of E. 28th
tain John R. Hegeman, Jr., Assistant Inspector st.
Manhattan, N. Y. City: Lieut.-Com., Samuel of Small Arms Practice and Ordnance Officer: Dana Greene. Chief of Staff; Lieut.-Com. Alfred Major Harris B. Fisher. Quartermaster; Major B. Fry. Engineer; Lieut.-Com. John G. Agar,
David P. Arnold, Commissary of Subsistence; Paymaster; Lieut. Aaron Vanderbilt, Gunnery
First Lieut. Alfred H. Abeel, assigned as AideOfficer and Inspector of Gun Practice; Lieut. (J.
de-Camp. G.) Gerard B. Townsend, Aid. 1st naval bat
The strength of the three New York City britalion, Commander, William B. Duncan, Jr.; 2d
gades, as indicated by the inspection return. is naval battalion, Commander, Robert P. For
shown below: shew; 2d separate naval division, Rochester,
First Brigade. Lieuit. Edward N. Walbridge.
The strength of the naval militia is about 850 officers and men.
Pres AbCommander-in-Chief. Governor Theodore Roose Organization. Annual
sent. velt. Oyster Bay: headquarters, Capitol, Albany,
April 12.... 526
601 drews, Adjt.-Gen. (resigned Dec. ?8); Col. George Twelfth Regt..
390 830 666 Curtis Treadwell, Military Secretary; Aides-de-Twenty-second Regt. April 19.. 586 56 642 Camp_(appointed). Major Craig Wadsworth, Cap- First Battery. June 16.... 58 1 tain F. Norton Goddard, Captain William Littauer, Captain David S. Iglehart: (detailed from Totals.
1,506 462 11,968 the National Guard). Lieut -Colonel William Henry Chapin, 65th regiment; Lieut.-Colonel Harry Hayden Treadwell, 22d regiment; Captain George
Second Brigade. Albert Wingate, 23d regiment; Captain James
April 14.... 536 80 616 Madison Andrews, 36th separate company; First Thirteenth Regt Lieut. William L. Flanagan, 2a Battery: First Fourteenth Regt.... April 5.. 589 165 Lieut. Adrian
W. Mather, 10th battalion: Twenty third Regt.. April 3.. 679 53 First Lieut. Robert K. Prentice, Squadron A; Sec- Forty-seventh Regt.. May 23. 420 144 ond Lieut. James Wray Cleveland, 7th regiment: Seventeenth Sep. Co. April 20. 59 12