Page images
PDF
EPUB
[merged small][graphic]

A Corner In The New Machine Shop.

The Department of Mathematics provides a thorough training in the principles of Mathematics, with various and numerous applications to practical engineering problems. Special attention is given in the first two years to the mathematical consideration of elementary Mechanics, and in the last two years to more advanced work in the same line. This work is made to coordinate with the work in the Department of Physics during the first two years, and with the several Engineering Departments during the last two years. It is held that in confining the work of this department as far as possible to practical problems, the students are rendered more efficient, and they gain greater confidence in the use of Mathematics.

The Department of Mechanical Drawing has enlarged upon its original scope, and is now known as the Department of Mechanical Drawing and Designing, which better describes the work conducted at the present day. The students are first taught the efficient use of drawing instruments. The course then carries them through the theoretical and practical requirements of the modern drafting room. Special attention is given

to Descriptive Geometry; Analysis of Mechanical Movements; Valves, Valve Diagrams, and Valve Gears; practical Machine Design; and practice in Steel Construction Work. It is recognized that in this department the instruction must, to a maximum degree, combine theory and practice; so the instructors aim to keep in touch with modern shop practice, and to give to the students that which will be the most useful when they enter upon their professional careers. The work of this department is carefully coordinated with that of the several Engineering Departments.

In the Department of Chemistry the students are grounded in the fundamental principles of the subject by means of experimental lectures and recitations supplemented with a thorough laboratory course in Engineering Chemistry.

The Department of Languages provides courses in French (or Spanish) and German. These languages have a practical value to the engineer in his professional work, and also afford that kind of mental discipline and culture which mathematical and physical science, if followed exclusively, would fail to supply.

[graphic][merged small]
[merged small][merged small][graphic][merged small]

largely upon their work in this department.

In addition to the expansion of the seven original departments as outlined above, two entirely new owes have been added, the necessity for them having developed since the course was founded. The first of these two to be introduced was the Department of Applied Electricity, in 1893; and the other, the Department of Business Engineering, in 1903.

The Department of Business Engineering was the outgrowth of the efforts of Mr. Alexander C. Humphreys (now President Humphreys), of the Class of '81. Successful in his professional work, chiefly with the upbuilding of the United Gas Improvement Company, and later in the firm of Humphreys & Glasgow, en

a footing in the already crowded course at the Institute. In 1897, at the request of President Morton, he arranged a course of lectures by prominent bankers and business men. This was followed by a brief course of instruction; but it was not a requisite and completely established part of the curriculum until 1903. when he had become President of Stevens Institute. He then took personal charge of the work, and created the Department of Business Engineering. In this department the effort is made, first, to bring the students to appreciate that engineers must practice their profession in conformity with commercial conditions and limitations. Then, by means of lectures and recitations, instruction is given in Accounting, Depreciation, Shop Cost, Analysis of Data, Law of Contracts, and business methods in general. This work is confined to the Senior year. Only One Degree? The course of study in the Department of Electrical Engineering, which now takes the place of the Department of Applied Electricity established over twenty years ago, has kept pace with the rapid advancement in that branch of the engineering profession. Such is the efficiency of the course in the Department of Electrical Engineering at Stevens at the present day. that, with some rearrangement of roster, the degree of Electrical Engineer could be given fairly; and the question whether it should be, or not, has recentlv received serious consideration.

give only the degree of Mechanical Engineer, combining with it the fundamentals and essentials of Electrical Engineering.

The young mechanical engineer will unquestionably have more opportunities if versed in the fundamentals of Electrical Engineering; and the young man who would seek a specialized training for the degree of Electrical Engineer, would certainly have a great advantage if he were first well trained for the profession of Mechanical Engineering. Substantiation of the reasons for continuing to give the single degree of M. E., especially for those who wish to follow Electrical Engineering, could be found—were substantiation necessarv—in the

[graphic][merged small][merged small][merged small]

Every student at Stevens is required to take the complete course of study, with no options or specializing. This has been the distinguishing feature from the beginning of the Institute, setting Stevens apart from all other technical institutions, and giving a strength to her degree of Mechanical Engineer that is not surpassed.

Stevens graduates have risen everywhere to high positions in nearly every branch of engineering work, as may be seen by examining the list of positions of the Alumni of Stevens, published annually in the Institute Catalogue. It is there shown that more than one-third of the graduates have risen to or above the responsible position of Superintendent, many being Managers or Presidents. Among the remaining two-thirds, are largely the Alumni of the past eight years, who comprise fifty per cent of the total number of living graduates; of the latter, who are yet very young men, many

[graphic][merged small]

facturers of instruments, superintendents of paper mills, manufacturers of textile machinery, mining engineers, etc. This list of occupations is quoted from a recent address by President Alexander C. Humphreys, M. E., Sc. D., LL. D., who also states in this connection, that "the same college course furnished each of these men a solid foundation upon which to build the superstructure required for his selected vocation."

President Morton, who had successfully developed the work of Stevens Institute from the beginning, and who had made this his life work, was called to his eternal rest in May, 1902. His labors for the advancement of Stevens were taken up in September of the same year by Pres. Alex. C. Humphreys, who had been his close personal friend for a number of years. President Humphreys was graduated at Stevens with the Class of '81. He had always taken the greatest interest in the affairs of the Institute; and when the question of electing a successor to President Morton came up, the Trustees were unanimously petitioned by the Faculty and Alumni of the Institute to extend a call to Mr. Humphreys. This the Trustees promptly did without a dissenting voice.

Endowment and Equipment

The original endowment of Stevens Institute, as already mentioned, was $500,000. The principal sources of revenue received since the establishment of the Institute, have been from the late President Morton, who, at various critical periods, gave sums ranging from $2,500 to $50,000, and aggregating $145,000. Not all of this remains as an endowment fund, for much that President Morton gave was applied to meeting the growing demands for accommodation. For example, he gave $10,500 toward fitting up a workshop in 1881, and $15,000 for the building of a new boiler room in 1901. In 1899, Mr. Andrew Carnegie donated $65,000 for a new Laboratory of Engineering; and, upon its completion in 1902, he gave $100,000, and a year later an additional $125,000, making a total of $225,000 as an endowment fund for the building. In 1897. Mrs. Martha B. Stevens, widow of the found

[merged small][merged small][graphic][merged small]

dergone considerable change in the past two years. The drafting rooms have been enlarged to an uninterrupted floor space of 60 by 40 feet each, with ample window space for light. They are also equipped with individual adjustable electric light pendants, permitting each student to place the lamp, when required, so as to avoid shadows. The workshops have been entirely overhauled during the past year, the metal- and wood-working rooms each being large (60 by 40 feet) and well lighted, and well equipped, the former with lathes and planers, drill presses and milling machines, shapers, etc., and the latter with wood lathes, a wood planer, circular and band saws, etc., all of the latest types.

equipped for the exercises in steam-fitting and vise work.

After the student has finished the course in Shop Work, he takes up exercises in handling and testing boilers, engines of various kinds, machinery, and apparatus likely to be met with in professional life. These exercises are conducted in the thoroughly equipped new Carnegie Laboratory of Engineering.

Electrical Laboratory work is conducted in two large rooms, each recently equipped with much up-to-date electrical apparatus. The "Instrument" Laboratory is equipped with a large variety of measuring instruments and standards.

The Chemical Laboratories include two entire floors in the west wing of the

« PreviousContinue »