Page images
[ocr errors]


Oct. 21st. Thomas Foxcroft elected a fellow.

28th. Agreed that the “Officers be chosen next Friday, and that written notices be sent to each Fellow."

“Charles Thomson is desired to bring with him the copy of the Laws which he has made, and the Obligation transcribed in a book for the Fellows to sign.

John Benezet elected a Fellow.

Nov. 4th. The Society elected Benjamin Franklin President; Samuel Powel, Vice-President; Charles Thomson and Thomas Mifflin, Secretaries; Dr. Morgan, Lewis Nicola, and Isaac Bartram, Curators; and Clement Biddle, Treasurer. “Charles Thomson, having brought with him a book wherein the Laws were fairly copied, the same were read.'

“The Obligation being also copied in another part of the same book, the fellows present subscribed the same, and each paid the sum of ten shillings as admission money.”

The Philadelphia Medical Society, instituted the 14th of February, 1765, was, by unanimous agreement, united and incorported with this Society.

Isaac Smith and John Walker, elected Corresponding Members.

Nov. 11th. Four members of the Medical Society, Sonmans, Glentworth, Bayard, and Clarkson, signed the Obligation. John Benezet also signed. Lambert Cadwalader chosen a Fellow.

18th. Samuel Miles subscribed the Obligation. The Corresponding Secretary informed the meeting that

the American Philosophical Society, desirous of a union, had, at their last meeting, appointed a Committee, composed of their two Vice-Presidents, two Secretaries, and Messrs. Rhoads and Syng, to confer with a Committee of this Society, and consider of the terms of union. The American Society, appointed as their Committee, S. Powel, Vice-President, Charles Thomson, and Thomas Mifflin, Secretaries, Messrs. J. Morgan and L. Nicola, two of the Curators, and Mr. Isaac Paschall.

The Society next instructed their Committee under five heads, relating to the name, Laws, first place of meeting, etc. of the United Society. Nothing to be concluded on by the Committee but everything to be laid before the Society for their sanction.

John Cadwalader and John Murgatroyd chosen fellows. James Wilson, William Hewson, and Edward Biddle, chosen Corresponding members.

Nov. 25th. Jacob Duché and Edward Penington elected Fellows; and Capt. Gardner and Dr. Mien, Corresponding Members.

Dec. 2nd. The Committee of Conference reported the minutes of a meeting had with the Committee of the American Philosophical Society, which minutes are copied on the Society Minutes. The Society proceeded to consider and amend the conference minutes.

They agree to unite on terms of perfect equality under the name of “The American Philosophical Society, held at Philadelphia for promoting Useful

Knowledge;" being a name, comprehending as near as possible, the designation of the original Societies; to meet at an indifferent place, not previously used by either Society; to elect officers at the first meeting; and to digest the Laws of both Societies into one Code after the union. They also proposed to have a new Minute book for the United Society, with a certain preamble, followed by seven articles of union. See part 2, p. 143, for the preamble and articles.

Henry Drinker, Matthew Clarkson, Joseph Stiles, Joseph Galloway, Thomas Levezly, and Samuel Wharton, elected fellows.

9th. The Committee of Conference reported nine articles as agreed upon by both Committees, as the terms of the union. Here the officers are settled to be, one patron, one president, three vice-presidents, one treasurer, four secretaries, and three curators; all, except the patron, to be elected at the first meeting in Jan. next. The Governor of the Province to be waited on by a Committee of the United Society, to request him to be the patron.

Dec. 16th. This evening, Dr. Cadwalader, Dr. Redman, Jacob Duché, Rev. Mr. Duché, Mr. Penington, Mr. Hopkinson, Mr. Lambert Cadwalader, and Mr. Murgatroyd, signed the Obligation, agreeably to the Rules.

Dec. 20th. Benjamin Wynkoop, John Drinker, Thomas Gilpin, Thomas Clifford, Levi Hollingsworth, James Worrell, and Isaac Wharton, elected fellows.

Some explanations of the Articles of Union of the joint Committee asked for, and amplifications made, by the American Philosophical Society, to prevent any misunderstanding. The latter agreed to by the American Society unanimously. The Societies then exchanged their lists of members.

On the minutes of the American Society are inserted at length, their list of members, as well as the list of the American Philosophical Society, furnished to them by the latter.

The Committee of the American Society reported that the Philosophical Society had voted the union on the terms reported by the joint Committee, and as explained this evening. Whereupon, the American Society resolved unanimously to unite with the Philosophical Society on these terms.

Dec. 30th. The treasurer presented his account, from which it appeared that there was not money in his hands sufficient to defray the debts of the Society; whereupon a Committee was appointed to settle finally with the Treasurer; and in case the outstanding admission money is not sufficient to pay the debts of the Society, the Committee, with the Treasurer, was empowered to lay an assessment on the Fellows to discharge them.

The members were desired to meet at the College on the succeeding Monday (Jan. 2, 1769) to elect officers of the United Society.



1727. Autumn. Formed the Junto. Met on Friday evenings. Every member in turn to produce one or more queries on any point of Morals, Politics, or Natural Philosophy, to be discussed, and once in three months on any subject he pleased. Our debates were to be under the direction of a president, and to be conducted in the sincere spirit of inquiry after truth, without fondness for dispute or desire of victory.

The first members besides Franklin, were Joseph Breintnal, Thomas Godfrey, (“He soon left us”) Nicholas Scull, William Parsons, William Mangridge, Hugh Meredith, Stephen Potts, George Webb, Robert Grace, and William Coleman. My friendship for William Coleman “continued without interruption to his death, upwards of forty years; and the club continued almost as long, and was the best school of philosophy, morality, and politics that then existed in the province.Franklin's Autobiography. 1 Sparks, 81 et seq. Written by Franklin in 1771. 1 Sparks 1. Note.

List of members given by Roberts Vaux, derived from the papers of his grandfather, Hugh Roberts :“B. Franklin, Hugh Roberts, William Coleman, Philip Syng, Enoch Flower, Joseph Wharton, William Griffiths, Luke Morris, Joseph Turner, Joseph Ship


« PreviousContinue »