Page images

for a large log cabin upon its seventy-acre tract north of the site of the birth-house, and nearer the mouth of Pope's Creek. This cabin is designed for the comfort and general reception of the public. A large area of the Wakefield Association's land provides an attractive site for camping. A bill is being presented in Congress by Congressman Bland, of the First Virginia District, for the government to dredge the mouth of Pope's Creek to allow the long-needed access by ordinary river craft and by ferry from Maryland to the Wakefield estate, and to build a wharf in the creek near the log cabin; also to acquire land additional to the U. S. Government's present twelve acres, so as to provide room for aeroplane landing and motor-car parking; also to improve the landscaping of the area around the birthplace, install mechanical, electrical and sanitary equipments, and to cooperate with the Wakefield Association upon all necessary improvements that are beyond the original aim and financial possibilities of the said Association. It has been suggested by Dr. Charles Moore, Chairman of the United States Commission of Fine Arts, that the Government might do well to add, to its present very small part of the Wakefield estate, that part of the whole estate which was first acquired by the Washingtons in 1665, lying along Bridges Creek where Col. John Washington lived and where he was buried in 1676-7, and to mark the site of his house thereon. This tract lies to the northwest of the birthplace. This additional land would provide a much-needed site for the national encampment or headquarters of The Boy Scouts of America (which organization might be permitted to build thereon). This location has the advantage of being between Mt. Vernon and Wakefield, and of having a long, good, sandy beach in the clean salt water of that main artery of transportation, the broad Potomac, as well as an attractive plateau sufficiently wooded.

The Washington family heirs, living descendants of one of George Washington's brothers, namely, W. Lanier Washington, Mary Washington Keyser, Washington Perine, George Corbin Perine, Mary Perine Platt, Mildred Washington Perine, Ezra Washington Perine, Eleanor Washington Freeman have conveyed by a deed of gift in trust the Washington burial plot at Wakefield to The Wakefield National Memorial Association. This en

ables the association to proceed with its plans to restore the old graves and to erect thereon a suitable mortuary memorial.

The replica of the birthplace is to be completed and dedicated in connection with the national celebration in 1932 of the bicentenary of the birth of George Washington. All funds for this permanent and patriotic purpose are being secured by The Wakefield National Memorial Association from voluntary memberships. Subscriptions are respectfully urged from all upon any one of the following memberships;

[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

Each membership represents the corresponding number of square-feet of land in the Wakefield estate at $1.00 a square-foot. All membership subscriptions of $5.00 or over and all gifts will be recorded under such members' names in the great Golden Book of Wakefield, to be preserved permanently in the birthplace. Remittances for memberships should be sent to A. M. Nevius, Riggs National Bank, Washington, D. C.

The present officers, trustees, and regents of the Wakefield Association are forty-seven in number, and from nearly all parts of the U. S. Mrs. James Allison Hodges, of Richmond, Va., is State Regent for Virginia. The Colonial Dames of America in the State of Virginia, which in 1904 and 1908 began an improvement on the Washington family burial ground, has now, under the presidency of Mrs. G. G. Valentine, of Richmond Va., undertaken an active interest in the present Wakefield project; and, as well, the Daughters of the American Revolution, and the Daughters of 1812; as, also, have other patriotic organizations. Specimens of the salt-glaze table ware made in England about 1735, imported for the Washingtons and used at Wakefield, have been reproduced

by the old process from the broken plates dug up on the site of the birthplace, and can be obtained of the president of the Wakefield Association.

The State of Virginia has renewed its appropriation for the memorial at Wakefield, made in 1858, but which memorial the State was prevented from executing by the Civil War. An item for this appropriation appeared in the Budget delivered to the Virginian Legislature in January, 1928, by Governor Harry Flood Byrd.

Hon. Schuyler Otis Bland and Hon. R. Walton Moore, of Virginia, are among the trustees of the Wakefield National Memorial Association. The president is Mrs. Harry Lee Rust, Sr., 2400-16th St. Washington, D. C.; Vice Presidents, Mrs. Anthony Wayne Cook and Dr. Charles Moore of Washington, D. C. Among other trustees are Mrs. Alfred J. Brosseau, President-General of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolu tion, and Mrs. James P. Andrews, President of the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America.

The Northern Neck Auxiliary of the Wakefield Association is officered with Mrs. Ada Fairfax Chandler as President; Mrs. W. T. Latane, Mrs. Thomas L. Hunter, Mrs. Wm. A. Jones, Jr., Mrs. J. D. Peese, and Mrs. E. J. Tignor, Vice-Presidents; Mrs. A. E. Carver of Montross, Secretary; Miss Emily Mayo of Hague, Treas



Charles Arthur Hoppin.

The accompanying illustration of the portrait painted by John Wollaston, sometimes called Woolaston, of Mary Ball Washington, mother of George Washington, her first child, is mentioned in that standard work established by Michael Bryan (born 1757, died 1821) entitled Dictionary of Painters and Engravers, Biographical and Critical, by Michael Bryan. This important work was published in 1849 in London, England, and since then republished,

[graphic][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]
« PreviousContinue »