Page images
PDF
EPUB

Illinois.
Montana.

Wisconsin. 23. Applicant must comply with such rules as the department of public welfare may prescribe:

Massachusetts. 24. Applicant must not be an inmate of any public or private institution except for temporary medical or surgical care in a hospital: Montana. New Hampshire.

New York. 25. Applicant must never have been convicted of a felony or high misdemeanor:

New Jersey. 26. The receipt of other pensions or Federal aid does not disqualify any citizen from benefits:

Oklahoma. 27. Applicant must not have been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude during a period of 25 years preceding application:

Oregon. 28. Applicant must not be an habitual criminal or drunkard:

Texas. 29. Applicant's physical condition must render him permanently unable to provide for himself:

District of Columbia. 30. If applicant is convicted of a heinous offense involving imprisonment for more than 90 days, aid is permanently canceled:

West Virginia 31. Applicant has not habitually failed to work according to his ability, opportunity, or needs for maintenance for benefit of himself or those legally dependent upon him:

North Dakota. 32. Applicant must be unable to support himself: Ohio.

Limitations on Property and Income The provisions of the laws of the different States on the limitations on property and income are also numerous and quite different among the States. Following are set forth 46 different provisions with the names of the States where the laws contain such provisions. 1. Annual income including pension must not exceed $360 per year: Alabama. Nebraska.

Oregon.
Arizona.
Ohio.

Wyoming.
2. Annual income must not exceed $300 per year:
Delaware.
Idaho.

Utah.

3. Annual income must not exceed $400 per year:
Florida.
Kentucky.

Mississippi. 4. Annual income must not exceed $550 per year:

Illinois.
5. Annual income must not exceed $150 per year:

North Dakota.
6. Annual income must not exceed $30 per month:
Illinois.
New Hampshire.

Rhode Island.
Michigan.
Oregon.

Hawaii. 7. Income must not exceed $25 per month:

[blocks in formation]

10. Applicant must not have directly or indirectly disposed of property for the purpose of qualifying: Alabama. Kentucky.

Ohio.
Arizona.
Maine.

Oregon.
Arkansas.
Maryland.

Rhode Island.
California.
Michigan.

Texas.
Colorado.
Minnesota,

Utah.
Connecticut.
Montana.

Vermont.
Delaware.
Nebraska.

Wyoming.
Florida.
Nevada.

West Virginia.
Idaho.
New Hampshire.

Washington.
Illinois.
New Jersey.

District of Columbia.
Indiana.
New York.

Hawaii.
Iowa.

North Dakota. 11. Spouse must not have disposed of property for the purpose of qualifying: Minnesota.

Wyoming 12. Nonincome-producing property owned by applicant computed at 5 percent: Colorado. Nebraska.

Rhode Island.
Idaho.
Nevada.

Utah.
Indiana.
North Dakota.

Wisconsin.
Iowa.
Ohio.

Hawaii. 13. Nonincome-producing property owned by applicant computed at 3 percent: Arizona. Michigan.

Wyoming.

14. Nonincome-producing property owned by applicant computed at 2 percent:

Illinois. 15. Applicant's assets must not exceed $300 in addition to homestead valued at $2,500:

Arkansas. 16. Applicant's real property must not exceed $300: California.

Nevada. 17. Applicant's personal property must not exceed $500:

California. 18. Applicant's real property must not exceed $3,500: Michigan.

Minnesota. 19. Applicant's personal property must not exceed $1,000 (household goods of $500 exempt):

Michigan. 20. The amount of aid when added to income must not be more than $35 per month:

California. 21. Property of applicant in excess of $2,500 may be required to be transferred:

Colorado. 22. Recipient of old-age assistance must give lien on his property:

Connecticut. 23. Applicant must not own property above homestead exemption: Florida.

Mississippi.
24. Value of property must not exceed $5,000:
Illinois.
Rhode Island.

Wisconsin. 25. Value of property must not exceed $2,500:

Kentucky. 26. Value of property must not exceed $1,000:

Indiana. 27. Value of applicant's property must not exceed $2,000; if married, $3,000:

Iowa. 28. Value of applicant's property must not exceed $1,500; if married, $2,000:

Missouri.

29. Value of applicant's real and personal property must not exceed $3,000: New Jersey.

Oregon. 30. Value of applicant's property must not exceed $3,000; if married, $4,000:

Ohio. 31. Value of applicant's real property must not exceed $3,500 or personal property of $1,000 (household goods of $500 exempt):

Michigan. 32. Applicant's property must not exceed $2,500; if married, $4,000 (homestead to the value of $1,000):

Vermont. 33. Value of applicant's property must not exceed $1,500:

Hawaii.
34. Value of applicant's property must not exceed $300:

West Virginia
35. Transfer of applicant's property may be required:
Indiana.
North Dakota.

Utah.
Montana.
Ohio.

District of Columbia.
New Hampshire. Oregon.

Hawaii.
New Jersey.
Rhode Island.

Washington. 36. Applicant must not have cash or investments to exceed $300:

Iowa. 37. Transfer of securities in excess of $300 may be required:

Iowa. 38. Value of property must not exceed $300 (dwelling house exempt):

Maine. 39. No provision: Massachusetts.

Pennsylvania. 40. All earnings of applicant not in excess of $100 exempt: Minnesota.

Vermont. 41. Applicant must not have income beyond an annual exemption of $150, including pension which exceeds $30 a month, if single; and $45 a month if spouse is also eligible and living with pensioner:

Missouri. 42. Applicant's income must not be more than would provide reasonable assistance compatible with decency and health: Montana.

Wyoming
Oklahoma,

Washington,
1363309-37—-5,

43. Applicant's income, if single, must not exceed $360 per year; if married, $720 per year:

Texas. 44. Applicant must not own real or personal property or mixed, other than cash or marketable securities exceeding $5,000, if single; $7,500 if married:

Texas. 45. Applicant must not own cash or marketable securities exceeding $500 if single; $1,000 if married:

Texas. 46. Applicant's income must not be more than $30 if single; and $45 per month if married:

Vermont.

Maximum Allowance

The maximum allowance of old-age assistance by the different States is not so varied as the residence requirements and the social conditions embodied in the laws of the different States; however, the amount of maximum allowance provided in the different State laws is not uniform. Following is set forth the maximum allowance provisions, together with the States whose laws contain such provisions. 1. $30 per month: Arizona. Nebraska.

Texas.
Arkansas.

New Hampshire. Vermont.
Colorado.
New Jersey.

Wyoming.
Indiana.
Ohio.

West Virginia.
Michigan.
Oklahoma.

Hawaii,
Minnesota.

Oregon.
Missouri.

Pennsylvania.
2. $30 per month (veterans $50 per month):

Alabama. 3. $35 per month:

California.
4. $25 per month:
Delaware.

Iowa.
Idaho,

Utah. 5. Not exceeding $15 per month:

Kentucky. 6. $30 per month (except in exceptional cases):

Rhode Island. 7. One person $35 per month. More than one person in family $60 per month. (One person cannot receive less than $10 per month nor more than $35 per month:)

Florida.

« PreviousContinue »