Page images
PDF
EPUB
[graphic][merged small]

was found to be nine feet in diameter and four feet high; it is divided into five loculi by plaster partitions about three inches thick and twelve inches high, and had been used as a tomb.

A shaft leads down from this into another chamber twenty-six feet long by six feet wide, which is divided latitudinally into ten loculi. Another passage leads into two other and similar chambers, also divided into loculi. A shaft forty feet deep leads from this down into another range of these singular chambers, nine in number, one of which has the appearance of having been used as an ante-room, the rest were divided into loculi. These chambers were cut in a very soft kind of melekeh and are nearly on a plan with the Phænician tombs at Saida, as they are systematically arranged tier upon tier with shafts leading down through them. In making these excavations ancient pottery and glass vases were found at various depths.

RUINS AT DAMASCUS GATE. One of the most interesting relics of antiquity is found in an ancient tower at the Damascus gate. This structure is very massive, and bears the peculiar Jewish marks similar to the Temple area walls. The lower courses of the city wall, for some distance on each side of the gate, bear the same character of large blocks, beveled edge, with the whole surface hewn smooth, exhibiting an earlier and more careful style than most other walls here. In the tower on the east side of the gate there is a flight of winding stairs of square steps, with square turnings--not spiral-measuring 7 feet long by 3 wide. This was the kind of stairway leading to the middle chamber in the Tem ple porch (1 Kings vi. 8).

WAILING PLACE OF THE JEWS.—No. 60. A short distance below David Street, in the foundation-wall of the Temple enclosure, are several courses of large stones, bearing the Jewish bevel, and other marks of great antiquity. They were doubtless placed here by Solomon's builders when the foundation of the Temple was laid.

These are the Stones of Wailing, and this is the nearest that the Jews are now permitted to come to their ancient place of worship and sacrifice. This place is resorted to at all times by the devout, but Friday afternoon is the set time for Jews to meet here to mourn and weep for their departed power, the glory of their ancient city, and the hallowed and glorious associations of the Temple. And thus they may be seen. Old men with white flowing beards, young men in the vigor of manhood, aged women, and rosy-cheeked girls; some sitting, some standing, some leaning their heads affectionately against these ancient time-worn stones, frequently giving vent to their grief in loud weeping and wailing.

Second only in interest to the Temple Area are the ruins of the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem. This building was erected by the Knight Templars, (Hospitallers) of Jerusalem, in the time of the Crusades, and its magnificence may be gathered from accounts of it by ancient writers, and from ruins of it still standing, with remains of quaint carvings, and traces of colors. The style seems to have been that of an Oriental Khan, being a vast quadrangular structure around an interior court, the chambers opening on the galleries. There are marks found on the walls, and many curious ornaments sculptured in the cornice.

The Great Hospital of St. John is described as standing A.D. 1322, by Sir John Mandeville, as a palace supported and ornamented by 178 stone pillars. The order of Knights Templar was gathered from the nobles of all Europe, and was at first charitable for the relief of pilgrims, but afterwards became religious and military. They were recognized as an order as late as 1800, at which time Malta was restored to them by England and France, when Paul, the Emperor of Russia, was the Grand Master. But England now holds the island, and the knights have lost all dominion and power.

The gateway of the ruined hospital in Jerusalem is still standing, though very ruinous. It presents a flattened pointed arch, which is succeeded by a round arch behind, ornamented with rich historical and emblematical carvings in stone. Among many finely designed and chiselled figures may be seen the LAMB, which was the peculiar emblem of the order. There are broken stairs, a court surrounded by a cloister in ruins, with the remains of several rooms, also the remains of the chapel, large, and ornamented with a window, with stained or painted glass. This monastery was founded in honor of St. John the Baptist (Saewolf, A.D. 1102).

These mouldering ruins are memorials of the noble order of Knights, whose strong arms were for ages the bulwark against the aggressive Moslems, and

ون

« PreviousContinue »