« PreviousContinue »
also lost to view. That section of the series which embraces these buried tombstones is also valuable from an antiquarian point of view, as until the present new parish church become a ruin they are hermetically sealed against inspection, under the floor of the new church. Allusions having occasionall been made by the author, in the section published, to future portions of his work to be headed “Displaced Tombstones,” “Monuments," “ Tablets," Brasses,"
," " Memorial Windows,” &c., we may expect further interesting instalments of the series. The whole of the thousands of tombstones which cover the immense area of the parish churchyard will, it appears, be treated by the author, but probably his labours in this section will be confined to the more ancient among the number, and such of the modern inscriptions as may be accounted important. We understand that the publication of the remainder of the manuscript in the columns of the Journal will extend over the greater part of the year 1880. We refer with the greatest satisfaction and pleasure to these combined efforts of a spirited publisher and his unwearying contributor to rescue the buried, or, as the author puts it, “interned” tombstones from the artificial ublivion which befell them on the occasion of the destruction of the old church. The entire series will prove an invaluable fund of information, placed cut-and-dry at the finger ends of those who may require local materials for biographical or historical purposes. The surprising intimacy with which the author alludes to and deals with all matters and things connected with the old and new churches and churchyard, and the technical skill displayed in the descriptive matter, must convince readers of his preparedness to bring his prodigious task to a successful termination.
BARTON-UPON-IRWELL.—Mr. Robert Langton, the eminent Manchester engraver, informs us that a discovery of some interest has just been made by a working man while pulling down the old hall at Barton-upon-Irwell. “I can,” he says, "get no definite information as to the extent of the 'find, but an earthen vessel was found containing silver coins, and having seen some twenty of these coins I can describe them. They consist of shillings, sixpences, and groats of Elizabeth, James the First, and Charles the First. The mint marks are a rose, an anchor, and the 'tun’ of Throckmorton, master of the mint. From the latest coins being of the reign of Charles the First, the vessel was probably deposited where found about the middle of the seventeenth century, during the Civil Wars. The coins are much worn, and several of the sixpences crooked, or purposely bent, telling plainly of some old love-making."
LEIGH.—About two columns weekly of The Leigh Chronicle are set apart for Antiquarian and Genealogical Notes, under the title of “The Chronicle Scrap Book."
BURY.—Under the head of “ Notes and Queries,” interesting communications from contributors appear weekly in the Bury Times, chiefly on subjects connected with local tradition, history, and folk-lore.
TURTON TOWER.We understand that some carefully-culled notes on this ancient mansion and its successive owners, commencing from the earliest period and brought down to the present time, are on the eve of publication in book form, and may be expected to appear early in the new year. We have been
favoured with a perusal of some of the proof sheets, and we are therefore in a position to state that it relates facts, the collection of which are the result of diligent search and study, and eminently calculated to render the work a desirable addition to works on local Lancashire history. The matter abounds with dates, names, and important data. On the more obscure points several authorities are quoted, whilst certain contradictory assertions made by wellknown historians are cleverly discussed, with the view of clearing away doubts. The ancient objects found in the interior of the tower being described in a matter-of-fact, yet none the less interesting, way, this portion will prove a great treat for those who may never have been fortunate enough to obtain a personal inspection of the objects on the spot. The last chapter is devoted to the relation of several "ghost stories” associated with the tower and neighbours hood, which will, in the estimation of many, agreeably diversify the contents. An important feature is an accompanying original illustration of the tower, in the four corners of which the “arms,” &c., of the principal owners of the old edifice are represented. A sketch is also given of the memorable iron-bound “coffer," the dumb witness of an extraordinary disturbance between a lady of the Orrell family and her eldest son in the latter part of the sixteenth century. The publication, which will well merit the support of all who interest themselves in local antiquity, is entitled “Notes on Turton Tower and its Successive Owners,” and will, we have no doubt, reflect credit upon its author and compiler—Mr. James C. Scholes, of Bolton.
LIVERPOOL.—The Historic Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, which was established in 1848, and holds its meetings in Liverpool, has not for the last féw years been in the flourishing condition that could be desired for the only learned society in the county devoting itself exclusively to archæological investigations. Indeed it was recently proposed to wind it up altogether. An effortis being made to reconstruct it, and there is every probability of success. The Society has published thirty-one volumes, and these contain many contributions of importance from Messrs. R. G. Latham, A. Hume, C. Hardwick, J. Harland, H. A. Bright, A. Craig Gibson, J. Mayer, T. T. Wilkinson, and other wellknown antiquaries. A considerable portion of the papers, however, are not of the character that might be expected in the transactions of a purely historic society, but include disquisitions on political economy and natural science. In future it is proposed to concentrate the efforts of the Association upon strictly archæological and historical lines, devoting especial attention to the memorials of the past history of the two counties. The impetus that has been given to historical study within the last few years warrants the hope that the society will be abundantly successful in following up this new department. For the present session papers have been promised by Mr. T. G. Rylands, F.S.A. (the president), Father Gibson, Mr. J. P. Earwaker (editor of Local Gleanings), Mr. J. 0. Rylands, and other local antiquaries. A certain melancholy interest attached to the paper announced for a late meeting, as it was a contribution by the late Rev. Daniel H. Haigh, whose death has been a notable loss to Anglo-Saxon scholarship.
DUBLIN.-Saunders' Daily News-Letter, the oldest newspaper in Ireland, expired on Monday, 24th November last.
LEYLAND.—Her Majesty's royal licence and authority were given in September last to “ Thomas Townley Parker, of Cuerden Hall, in the parish of Leyland, of Astley, in the parish of Chorley, of Royle and of Entwistle, both in the parish of Whalley, all in the county palatine of Lancaster," to use henceforth “the surname of Townley in addition to and before that of Parker, and to bear the arms of Townley quartered with those of Parker.”
LATELY a series of attractive articles, entitled “Strange Stories, Scenes, Mysteries, and Characters in our National and Local History,” was commenced in the columns of the Hull Miscellany, a very entertaining and well-arranged little work, exceedingly popular in the chief towns on the Humber, of which William Andrews, Esq., F.R.II.S., is the editor. Each paper contains much curious, valuable, and out-of-the-way information—the result of laborious l'esearch and keen discrimination. The fidelity with which the writer clings to fact tends to heighten the interest so conspicuously manifested by readers, who eagerly await each instalment of his historic romance, and who ever increase in numbers. In other walks and works Mr. Andrews displays unalloyed antiquarian tastes of the highest order, and in the most ubiquitous manner. The works to which his prolific pen has contributed are legion. We are happy to announce that he has kindly promised to place Old South-East Lancashire on the list of recipients of his archæological and historical favours. Respecting maces, Mr. Andrews says :—We have gleaned some curious notes. Dr. Clarke considers the use of the mace by corporations to be derived from the ceremonies attendant on the preservation of Agamemnon's sceptre by the Chæroneans, B.C. 1201. Our readers will remember that when Cromwell was forcibly dissolving the Long Parliament, April 20, 1653, he said, pointing to the symbol of the Speaker's authority, “Remove that fool's bauble !” The mace was melted down and sold by order of the House of Commons. We find in the History of Leicester, by the late James Thompson, F.S.A., particulars of a singular Leicester custom. In 1766 we are told that a Mr. Fisher was elected mayor. According to Mr. Thompson's able work, “ Mr. Fisher was one of the few remaining Jacobites who were always ready to manifest their aversion to the reigning dynasty when occasion offered. It was the invariable custom of the newly-elected Mayor, previous to his election, to proceed in accordance with the requirements of the charter of James the First) to the Castle, on the Monday after Martinmas Day, there to take an oath, before the Steward of the Duchy of Lancaster, to perform well and faithfully all and every ancient custom, and so forth, according to the best of his knowledge. When Mr. Mayor and his attendants arrived at a certain place within the precincts of the Castle, the bearer of the great mace lowered it from its upright position, in token of acknowledgment to the superior authority of the ancient feudal earls within their own stronghold. This ceremony was purposely omitted when Mayor Fisher attended at the Castle gateway, the town servant refusing to slope the mace,' as it was designated. The Constable of the Castle, or his deputy, there
fore refused admission to the civic functionary. After that date the Mayor went in private to the Castle to comply with the terms of the ancient charter.”
The last survivor of the eight who signed that notable document “THE PEOPLE'S CHARTER” was John Arthur Roebuck, M.P. for Sheffield, who died at his London residence early on the morning of Sunday, 30th November last: He was born at Madras in 1802; was grandson of Dr. John Roebuck, of Sheffield; and was maternally descended from the poet Tickell.
On the morning of Sunday, 7th inst. (December, 1879), John Wesley's celebrated chapel in the City Road, London, historically known throughout the world as the Cathedral of Methodism, was almost entirely destroyed by fire, originating in the overheating of the warming apparatus. The historic building “Wesley's Morning Chapel” was gutted, and the main chapel, holding 2,000 persons, was greatly injured. The elaborate monuments-one to Dr. Waddy, father of the late M.P. for Barnstaple, and valued at £1,000— were also damaged, and the beautiful frescoed ceiling was irreparably injured, but Wesley's pulpit was saved.
We beg to acknowledge our indebtedness to the Editors of the Manchester Guardian, Manchester City News, Buxton Advertiser, High Peak News, and some other provincial papers which we have not seen, for their kindly references to the preliminary announcement of our intention to start this magazine.
RAWSON.—Mr. Henry Rawson, J.P., Prestwich Lodge, died 26th November last. He was one of the original proprietors of the Manchester Examiner and Times, as he was also of the defunct London Morning Star, with which newspaper Mr. John Bright was associated. He was born at Nottingham, and was in his sixty-first year.
ORMEROD.-Mr. Oliver Ormerod died at his residence in Roach Place, Rochdale, on 1st November last. He was amongst the first of those whose goods were seized and sold for refusing to pay the church-rate, when the Rey. W. R. Hay, of Peterborough notoriety, was vicar of the Rochdale Parish Church. He was one of the contributors to a magazine which was entitled the Vicar's Lantern, and in 1844 edited the Spectator, a local periodical, in which he wrote a series of humorous articles, entitled “ Yeomanry Papers." In 1851 he published another amusing production, written in the Lancashire dialect, entitled “Th’ Felley fro Rachda's Visit too the Greyte Eggshibishun."
BOWES.—The death of Mr. Robert Aitken Bowes, editor of the Bolton Guardian, took place on 7th November last, at his residence, 21, Halliwell New Road, Bolton, in the 43rd year of his age. He was a son of the late Mr. John Bowes, an eminent religious controversialist, and evangelist of the society known as the Christian Brethren, who also occupied the position of editor of the Truth Promoter, a publication issued in the interests of the sect with which he was connected. The subject of our notice was born at Dundee, but passed his early days at Manchester, working as a printer. He afterwards proceeded to Dundee, where, along with his brother, he printed and published the Truth Promoter, edited by his father. In 1863 Mr. Bowes came to Bolton and filled the position of reporter at the Guardian office. About ten years ago, he undertook the editorial management of the paper. As a journalist he was painstaking and energetic.
TO CORRESPONDENTS AND CONTRIBUTORS.
R. R. (Rochdale) and other Inquirers.—You may save yourselves the unnecessary trouble of recopying your sketches if of a size too large for our pages. Our engraver is in a position to photograph any size of sketch or object upon the wood, and by means of the lens effect any needful reduction of scale.
The “ STANDLEY BARN CHARITY" and the “SALFORD CHAPEL CHARITY,” commonly called “THE BOOTH CHARITIES.”—This article is unavoidably held over until our next issue.
PARISH CLERK.—Yes. You, and all other parish clerks within the Hundred of Salford, will benefit yourselves and us by putting yourselves upon corresponding terms with the editor.
YOUNG OLDHAM.—The following old obituary notice gives the information you require:—“Lately, at Loeside, near Oldham, James Ogden, aged 81. It is worthy of remark that he was born, lived, and died at the same place; and was uncle, great uncle, and great-great uncle to 147 persons.”—Manchester Mercury and Harrop's General Advertiser, Tuesday, 22nd January, 1805,