« PreviousContinue »
DUCIT AMOR PATRIAE.
By Mrs. Curzon, PRESIDENT WOMAN'S HISTORICAL.
Fort Niagara, N.Y., 1783-1786.
By Rev. CANON BULL, PRESIDENT LUNDY'S LANE
Slave Rescue in Niagara, Sixty Years Ago.
By Miss CARNOCHAN, PRESIDENT Niagara HISTOR-
In placing in the hands of the public, their second pamphlet, the Niagara Historical Society would express their gratincation at the favor shown to their first, “The Taking of Fort George," and rejoice to know that the author, Major Cruikshank, will soon contribute another valuable paper describing the “ Seven Months' Occupation of Niagara by the Americans.” The present issue contains a poem by Mrs. Curzon, President of the Woman's Historical Society, Toronto, the author of " Laura Secord" and other poems; a paper by Canon Bull, the President of the Lundy's Lane Historical Society, both of whom have done so much to cause an interest in historical research.
To show the aims and objects of our Society and what we have done, are doing and hope to do, it may be well to make some extracts from the report of the Society and the address of the President, read 13th October, 1896:
“It is much to be regretted that an Historical Society had not been formed here a score of years ago, when pioneers and veterans were alive, who could have told us so much that we have now no means of obtaining.
"Our thoughts to-night must be both retrospective and prospective. We speak of what has been done and what we hope to do. In 1892, a small Society was formed, chiefly with the view of giving assistance in the Centenary proceedings on July 16th. It is believed only two meetings were held, and one open meeting, at which a paper was read. “ Niagara One Hundred Years Ago,” which was printed by the Lundy's Lane Historical Society. The officers were, President, William Kirby i Secretary, Daniel Servos ; Treasurer, D. McDougall. In November, 1895, a meeting was called for all interested, as it was felt strongly by a few that in this historic spot such a Society should exist. It was with feelings of great diffidence that we engaged in the task, for we had been assured that it was useless to try to break down the cold, dead wall of apathy and indifference that we everywhere encountered and as to collecting relics, everything valuable had disappeared, was either destroyed or given away ; or, that if any remained, they would not be given to us. But all these dark prognostications proved false. What have we done ? Briefly, this: We have a list of over fifty members, have adopted a constitution and by-laws, a motto too, “ The Love of Country Guides." We have had interesting meetings, three of them being open to the public at which papers were read. One by Capt. Cruikshank has been printed in pamphlet form with an old engraving. We have had a successful anniversary, on the platform representatives of five Historical Societies ; indeed the Presidents of four. A poem was read, dedicated to our Society, by Mrs. Curzon. A paper was read by Canon Bull and addresses were made by Miss Fitzgibbon, Capt. Cruikshank, Rev. J. C. Garrett, Rev. P. Spencer, Col. Currie and Major Hiscott. You have heard the satisfactory reports of the Secretary and Treasurer, showing a balance in the treasury:
"A remarkable and valuable exhibit, for which we were indebted chiefly to the zeal of Mr. John D. Servos, of documents, weapons, old silver, flags,