Page images
PDF
EPUB

in worldly affairs, erecting a handsome residence at Stoke. He became sheriff of Bucks in 1798, member of Parliament in 1802, and was the royal Governour of the island of Portland in Dorset from 1805 for many years. Cambridge made him an LL.D. in 1811, and he also became lieutenant colonel of the First Troop of the First Regiment Royal Bucks Yeomanry.

While he courted only the muses in the wilderness of the Schuylkill, he formed in his declining years the “Outinian Society," whose purpose it was to encourage young men and young women to enter wedlock. This matrimonial society sent out a blank to be filled in under fifty-one different headings describing the eligible parties. It was called “ The True Friend, or a Table showing the Exact Situation in Life and Personal Qualities of Known Marriageable Ladies.” Finally, Mr. Penn's social benevolence shifted to the promotion of an invention of lamp labels for street corners and an improved breakfast waiter. He was indeed a many-sided man.

Despite his efforts to land others in the holy estate of matrimony, he very inconsistently died unmarried, June 21, 1834, and the Solitude passed to Granville Penn, his youngest brother, who held it for ten years. It then descended to Granville John Penn, a nephew, who died in March, 1867. Granville Jolin Penn was a great grandson of the Founder and the last private owner of the Solitude.

He came to Philadelphia in 1851, a dapper and wellpreserved middle-aged gentleman. The city made much of him, he was lionised by Councils, the Historical Society, and by all who could trace ancestral connexion with the

Penns in former years. In return for these attentions he gave a grand“ Fête Champetre" at the Solitude, with lavishly furnished marquees and a collation to which the quality of the city was invited. This was the last time a Penn was at the Solitude, and it was the last property here of a family that once owned the State. Without a tenant for some years it passed into the ownership of Fairmount Park in 1867 and is now well preserved in its original state as the administration building of the Zoological Society.

IN THE NO RN LIBERTIES, FAIRMOUNT PARK
MACPHERSON-ARNOLD-SHIPPEN-WILLIAMS

OUNT PLEASANT is fitly so named. Surely no pleasanter place for habitation could be found than the spot where this noble eighteenth century house rears its balustraded roof above a sea of surrounding

greenery on the east side of the Schuylkill not far north of the Girard Avenue bridge. The site commands a broad view upstream and down and over the wooded slopes of the farther shore. Though in summer the density of the foliage somewhat obscures the prospect, at other seasons, when the trees are less fully clad, the eye sweeps the valley for miles.

Then it is, as the once elegant countryseats are seen crowning every hill, that one feels how ample and almost princely must have been the manner of life that prevailed there in the long past days when the young city was still miles distant from these sylvan fastnesses. In Virginia the James River, in all the pride of the manorial estates that lined its banks, could not have surpassed the loveliness and charm of the Schuylkill winding among rolling highlands on whose summits spacious homes of comely dignity sheltered some of the most distinguished citizens of the metropolis of the Colonies.

Society was gayer, more polished, and wealthier in Philadelphia than anywhere else this side of the Atlantic and the affluence and culture of the people were reflected in the houses in which they chose to spend their summers

[graphic]

or sometimes to live the year round. Of no locality was this truer than on both the east and west shores of the Schuylkill, whose waters imparted an agreeable element of life to the scene and at the same time supplied the best of fish to grace the boards of gentry who were notoriously addicted to the pleasures of the table.

In one of the choicest spots of this fair paradise of peace and plenty, Captain John Macpherson bought land in September, 1761, and set to building a great house, of almost baronial aspect, that commands consideration by its architectural presence alone, quite apart from the rich historic glamour that hangs over it. From the west or river front of the house, the land falls away rapidly so that the driveway approach is brought up to the east front. East and west fronts alike are of imposing mien. A high foundation of carefully squared stones is pierced by iron-barred basement windows set in stone frames. Above this massive grisly base, the thick stone walls are coated with yellow-grey rough-cast. Heavy quoins of brick at the corners and, at the north and south ends of the building, great quadruple chimneys joined into one at the top by arches, give the structure an air of more than usual solidity.

A broad flight of stone steps, their iron balustrades overgrown with a bushy mass of honeysuckle, leads up

to a doorway of generous breadth. The pillars at each side of the door and the superimposed pediment, the ornate Palladian window immediately above on the second floor and, above that again, the corniced pediment springing from the eaves, all contribute to set a stamp of courtly distinction upon the pile, a distinction for which only

[graphic][merged small]
« PreviousContinue »