Page images
PDF
EPUB

66

naturally be expected to countenance such doings. Highly respectable people among the Whigs told Mrs. Galloway and others, who had sustained much loss through the animosity of the mob, that they were

sorry for her furniture but not for her windows”—a rather peculiar and inconsistent distinction to draw. Though brimful of partisan bias and hot prejudice, Miss Rawle's account of the activities of several of the Whig ladies of the city in behalf of the army a little prior to this, is too amusing, as seen by Loyalist eyes, to omit:

But of all absurdities the ladies going about for money exceeded everything; they were so extremely importunate that people were obliged to give them something to get rid of them. Mrs. Beech (Bache] and the set with her, came to our door the morning after thee went, and turned back again. The reason she gave to a person who told me was that she did not chuse to face Mrs. S. or her daughters.

H[annah] Thompson, Mrs. [Robert] Morris, Mrs. (James) Wilson, and a number of very genteel women, paraded about streets in this manner, some carrying ink stands, nor did they let the meanest ale house escape. The gentlemen also were honoured with their visits. Bob Wharton declares he was never so teased in his life. They reminded him of the extreme rudeness of refusing anything to the fair, but he was inexorable and pleaded want of money, and the heavy taxes, so at length they left him, after threatening to hand his name down to posterity with infamy.

In February, 1782, Mr. Shoemaker's life-interest in his wife's estate at Laurel Hill was sold by the State agents to Major James Parr, an extensive investor in confiscated lands. Parr almost immediately thereafter leased the place to the French minister, the Chevalier de

la Luzerne, who will ever remain famous for the magnificent celebration he gave at his town house in honour of the birthday of the Dauphin. As he was so lavish in his entertainment, we may well believe that Laurel Hill during his occupancy was the scene of much social gaiety. It was certainly the scene of much good dining. The chevalier, of course, had his French cook and the French cook, to be sure, had his truffle-dog and the truffle-dog, forsooth, was fain to follow the occupation for which he had been bred. That sagacious animal, to his everlasting credit be it said, did what no botanist had ever done before or has ever succeeded in doing since. He dug for truffles on the lawn of Laurel Hill and found them! Could we now secure others of his breed we might add a new article to our native food supply.

After the peace, when the zeal against the Loyalists had in some measure abated, the authorities viewed the matter more calmly and saw that the title was still vested in Mrs. Shoemaker. Pursuant to some negotiations with Major Parr and his tenant, the Chevalier de la Luzerne, the estate was restored to its rightful owners, who returned after an absence of five years. In 1828, William Rawle, as trustee under his mother's will, sold Laurel Hill to Doctor Philip Syng Physick, reference to whom is made elsewhere, and from him the estate passed to his descendants, the Randolphs, who retained it till the city bought it for a part of Fairmount Park in 1869. After being let out for divers uses by the park commissioners the house was at last put in the care of the Colonial Dames of America, who now maintain it in good order and there hold stated meetings.

IN THE NORTHERN LIBERTIES, FAIRMOUNT PARK COLEMAN-BARCLAY-FRANKS—PASCHALL-LEWIS

-WHARTON

OODFORD is situated in the East Park at York and Thirty-third Streets near the Dauphin Street station of the Fairmount Park Electric Railway. The fine old doorway is reached by six soapstone

steps and opens into a large hall with an entrance at once into front rooms on either side. Beyond these doors are square columns against the walls of the hall with crosspiece of detail work, but no stairway appears. This ascends from a large hall in the centre of the house reached by a door in the side. The stairway and halls are spacious and the rooms large, each with a fireplace with ornamental iron back and square bricks for hearth. In the front south room the tiles surrounding the fireplace are blue and represent Elizabethan knights and ladies. The cornices in the rooms are rounding, the boards of the floors an inch and a half thick and dowelled together. The doors have brass hanging loops instead of knobs and the woodwork, including mantels and wainscot, is in fine condition.

The ground upon which it stands was granted by William Penn, February 16, 1693, to Mary Rotchford, who deeded the tract of two hundred acres to Thomas Shute in the same year. At his death in 1754 it was sold to Abel James, a son-in-law of Thomas Chalkley and one of the consignees of the tea in the Polly which was sent

[graphic]

back to England. He sold it to Joseph Shute, son of Thomas, in 1756, and immediately afterward it was sold at sheriff's sale, twelve acres going to William Coleman, who built the house. He was a friend of Franklin, member of the “ Junto,” a scholar, and an eminent jurist. Franklin

says

of him:

And William Coleman, then a merchant's clerk, about my age, who had the coolest, clearest head, the best heart, and the exactest morals of almost any man I ever met with. He became afterwards a merchant of great note, and one of our provincial judges. Our friendship continued without interruption to his death, upwards of forty years.

This in describing the members of the “ Junto” which met on Friday evenings and was for mutual improvement. Every member must produce in his turn one or more queries on any point of morals, politics, or natural philosophy, to be discussed by the company, and once in three months produce and read an essay of his own writing, on any subject he pleased. Franklin says it “ was the best school of philosophy, morality and politics that then existed in the province.”

William Coleman was a member of Common Council in 1739, justice of the peace and judge of the County Courts in 1751, and judge of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania from 1759 until he died, aged sixty-four, in 1769. The mansion on the “East side of the river Schuylkill and west side of Wessahykken Road” shows bim fond of study and retirement.

The executors of William Coleman sold the place to Alexander Barclay, Comptroller of His Majesty's Customs at the Port of Philadelphia. He was the son of

[graphic][ocr errors][merged small]
« PreviousContinue »