Page images
PDF
EPUB
[graphic]

GLEN FERN, ON THE WISSAHICKON CREEK Built by Thomas Shoemaker, c. 1747; enlarged by Thomas Livezey

or more.

The sons, John and Joseph, inherited Glen Fern and carried on the business.

John married Abigail Ridgway and had two sons, John and Thomas. John married Sarah Marshall and had no issue; Thomas married Ann Louise Phillips. They lived at Glen Fern and there were born their children, John, Joseph, Anna, and Sarah.

The mill continued to prosper and in the autumn the farmers brought in their grain. Often their waggons formed a solid line from the mill to the Main Street a mile distant, waiting to be unloaded. Thomas was the last to operate the mill and, about fifty years ago, it was turned to the manufacture of linseed oil for thirty years

The property was purchased for Fairmount Park in the year 1869, and the mill was continued for a couple of years as a grist mill by J. Wagner Jermon and then torn down. It was the second mill on the place, having been built after the fire already described, and stood under the present pier of the recent bridge over the creek. The road along the banks of the creek was built in 1826 from the Ridge Road to the Rittenhouse Mill down toward the city. It was continued and completed to the Montgomery County Line in 1856, being owned by the Wissahickon Turnpike Company, who collected toll from travellers until the road, with the remainder of the ravine, became part of Fairmount Park in 1869.

On the hill back of Glen Fern just outside the park limits, John Livezey and Sarah Livezey Firth live in an ancient house on part of the original tract. The house is filled with fine old furniture and bric-a-brac from the

early times. Here also is a painting of Glen Fern by Peale and a portrait of the first John Livezey by Sully.

Glen Fern is now occupied by the Valley Green Canoe Club, which has restored it, with the help of John Livezey, the former owner, and which keeps it in excellent condition.

[graphic][merged small]
« PreviousContinue »