Page images
[graphic][merged small]

rines and Cubans on Guantanamo Bay; 200 Spaniards killed and wounded.

June 15. The Texas, Marblehead and Suwanee bombarded the forts at Caimanera.

June 16. Forts at Santiago were again bombarded by Sampson's fleet.

June 18. Admiral Camara's fleet arrived at Cartagena.
June 20. United States troopships arrived at Santiago de Cuba.

June 21 and 22. The American army under General Shafter landed at Daiquiri and Siboney from the troopships.

June 22. The auxiliary cruiser St. Paul destroyed the Spanish torpedo boat Terror.

June 23. The monitor Monadnock sailed for Manila.

June 24. General Young and the Rough Riders attack the Spaniards at La Guasimas, near Sevilla. Hamilton Fish, Jr., and Captain A. K. Capron were killed.

June 25. The Americans under General Chaffee occupied Sevilla

June 26. The advance American forces reached San Juan, four miles distant from Santiago.

June 27. The third Manila expedition, commanded by General Arthur MacArthur, sailed from San Francisco.

June 28. President McKinley issued proclamation extending the blockade further of Cuban ports.

June 29. Major-General Merritt sailed for the Philippines from San Francisco. General Snyder's division of troops sailed for Santiago de Cuba, from Tampa.

June 30. The cruiser Charleston, with three transports, arrived in Manila bay.

JULY. July 1 and 2. General Lawton, General Kent, General Chaffee, General Young, Colonel Roosevelt, with Grimes, Capron and other brave officers and men, take the heights of El Caney and San Juan, overlooking Santiago de Cuba. The American losses in the two days' engagement were: Officers killed, 23; men, 208. Officers wounded, 80; men, 1,203. Missing, 81 men.

July 3. Destruction of Cervera's fleet.
July 4. Truce established between the contending forces.

July 5. General Toral refused to surrender the city. The truce was extended.

July 6. Lieutenant Hobson and his men exchanged.
July 7. An extension of armistice was granted.

July 8. The Concord and the Raleigh, of Admiral's Dewey's squadron, took possession of Isla Grande in Subig bay, on the island of Luzon.

July 9. General Miles sailed from Charleston on the Yale for Santiago de Cuba. General Toral offered to surrender if his troops were permitted to march out with their arms. The proposal was not accepted.

July 11. General Miles arrived at Santiago de Cuba, and conferred with General Shafter. Firing was resumed against the Spanish defenses.

July 14. General Toral agreed to surrender. '

July 15. The fourth Manila expedition sailed from San Francisco, under General Otis, with 1,700 troops.

July 16. Admiral Cervera and the officers captured from his fleet arrived at Annapolis as prisoners of war.

July 17. The city of Santiago de Cuba formally surrendered to General Shafter.

July 18. President McKinley issued his proclamation regarding the government of Santiago de Cuba.

July 25. General Miles landed in Porto Rico, near Ponce.

July 26. Spain proposed peace through the French ambassador, M. Jules Cambon.

July 27. The American forces advanced against Yauco, in Porto Rico.

July 28. General Brooke sailed with his command from Newport News for Porto Rico.

July 29. The American forces moved towards Malate on the road to Manila.

July 30. The President transmitted to Spain a statement regarding the basis of peace.

July 31. Battle of Malate between the Americans and Spanish near Cavite and Manila.

AUGUST. Aug. 1. The American troops in Porto Rico moved toward San Juan, General Miles having joined Generals Brooke and Schwan.

Aug. 5. The town of Guayama, in Porto Rico, was captured after a slight engagement by the Fourth Ohio and the Third Illinois Regiments.

Aug. 7. Admiral Dewey and General Merritt demanded the surrender of Manila. The demand was refused.

Aug. 8. A skirmish took place near Guayama, Porto Rico. Five soldiers of the Fourth Ohio were wounded.

Aug. 9. The town of Coamo, Porto Rico, was captured. Spain's reply to the peace proposition was presented to the President.

Aug. 10. Secretary Day and M. Jules Cambon agreed on the terms of a protocol to be sent to Spain for approval.

Aug. II. A protocol suspending hostilities was signed in Washington at 4:23 p. m., M. Jules Cambon having received authority from Spain to act for it.

Aug. 13. Manila surrendered to the troops under General Merritt and Admiral Dewey.

Aug. 17. The President appointed, as commissioners to act regarding the evacuation of Cuba. Major-General James F. Wade, Rear-Admiral William T. Sampson, and Major-General Matthew C. Butler. For Porto Rico he named Major-General John R. Brooke, Rear-Admiral Winfield S. Schley and Brigadier-General William W. Gordon.

Aug. 19. Spain appointed as commissioners for Cuba, Major-General Gonzales Parrade, Rear-Admiral Pastor y Landere and Marquis Montoro. For Porto Rico, Major-General Ortega y Diaz, Commodore Vallarino y Carrasco and Judge-Advocate Sanchez Aguila y Leon.

Aug. 20. A grand naval parade was held in New York, in which the New York, Brooklyn, Massachusetts, Indiana, Texas, Oregon and Iowa participated.


Sept. 9. President McKinley appointed as peace commissioners William R. Day of Ohio, Senators William P. Frye of Maine, Cushman K. Davis of Minnesota, George Gray of Delaware and Mr. Whitelaw Reid of New York.

Sept. 17. The American commissioners sailed for Paris.

Sept. 18. The Spanish government appointed as commissioners Senor Montero Rios, Senor Abarzuza, Senor Garnica, General Cerero and Senor Villarrutia.

Sept. 20. The evacuation of Porto Rico was begun.
Sept. 21. Mustering out of volunteers ordered to begin at once.

Sept. 24. Much criticism having been made in various directions regarding the conduct of the war, the President appointed a Commission of Investigation, which convened on this day at Washington. The commission was composed of the following persons: Major-General Grenville M. Dodge of Iowa, Colonel J. A. Sexton of Illinois, Captain E. P. Howell of Georgia, Major-General J. M. Wilson, chief of engineers of the United States army; the Hon. Charles Denby of Indiana, late minister to China; ex-Governor Urban A. Woodbury of Vermont, exGovernor James A. Beaver of Pennsylvania, Major-General A. McD. McCook of the army (retired), Dr. Phineas S. Connor of Cincinnati. General Dodge was elected chairman of the commission.

« PreviousContinue »