« PreviousContinue »
School for girls opened 1881, in basement of the Friendship Church. New location of about eight acres with several buildings in western part the city, purchased 882, and three acres more in 1887. Formerly part of United States “Barracks."
“Union Hall ” was burned, 1887. “Rockefeller Hall” a fine brick building, erected 1886. In 1886 the Training School for Nurses, the only one in the South, was established as a department of the Seminary. Trained nurses of this school are in great demand at highest compensa. tion. A brick building for kitchen and industrial work, erected 1888.
“Packard Hall," a three story brick building in place of " Union Hall,” completed 1888. Property worth $70,000. No endowment. Mainly supported by the “Woman's American Baptist Home Mission Society," Boston, Mass. Chief patron, J. D. Rockefeller, New York; other generous donors, Mial Davis, Massachusetts; R. H. Cole, Massachusetts; Dr. W. Howe, Massachusetts; Dea. J. W. Converse, Massachusetts. Miss S. B. Packard and Miss H. E. Giles, Principals.
“Over 3500 pupils, in the aggregate, have | been connected with this school, and there
have been between 400 and 500 conversions during the seven years. To God belongs all the glory !"
School opened first at Augusta, Ga., 1867. Transferred to Atlanta, 1879, when site of two and a half acres was purchased in city and present building erected. No dormitories. Only male students. New site purchased in western part of Atlanta, 1887. New and larger building soon to be erected. Value of property, $28,000. No endowment. S. Graves, D.D., President.
ROGER WILLIAMS UNIVERSITY, NASHVILLE, TENN.
Work of instruction begun in Nashville, 1864. School held in basement of First Baptist Church (Colored). In 1865 a site purchased in northwest part of city, and in 1866, in a reconstructed gov. ernment building the school was opened and maintained for ten years. In 1874 the Gordon property, thirty acres of land with a large brick dwelling was purchased. Location about one mile southwest of city, on a commanding eminence. In 1876 the extensive ad. dition was built. The wing at the left as shown in the picture, and intended for the young women has not been built. The President's house, erected 1883. Hay. ward Hall, erected 1886. Both are brick buildings of which we have no engravings. Princi. | Williams University," 1883. Value of property, pal patrons, Nathan Bishop, LL.D., and Mrs. | $100,000. Endowment, $1,000. A. Owen, C. C. Bishop, New York. Name of school D.D., President; D. W. Phillips, D.D., Theo. changed from “Nashville Institute,” to “ Rogerlogical Instructor.
ROGER WILLIAMS UNIVERSITY. (LEFT WING NOT BUILT).