« PreviousContinue »
Mounts Williamson, Barnard, and Tyndall, from summit of Junction Pass
Photo by Marion Randall Parsons
SIERRA CLUB BULLETIN, VOL. X.
ON THE JOHN MUIR TRAIL
Suspension Bridge over French Cañon Creek-Constructed 1915 Photo by Mrs. Cleaveland Forbes
REPORTS OF COMMITTEES
REPORT ON LE CONTE MEMORIAL LODGE
The lodge was officially opened on the evening of May 15 by a program which consisted of music, recitations, and an address by Mr. Foote, of Los Angeles, who told of some experiences with General Villa in Mexico. About two hundred crowded into the lodge. The lodge was open until the first of October, four months and a half.
For one month
and a half after the expiration of the regular custodian's work the lodge was in charge of Mr. W. A. Bourne, a new member of the club.
The number of the people visiting the valley this year far exceeded that of any previous year. The registration therefore was very large. From May 15 to August 15 the registration was 4069; during Mr. Bourne's stay 514 were added. The total registration was 4583.
Several times during the summer groups of people gathered in the lodge and the custodian gave short addresses upon "Joseph Le Conte," "John Muir," and "The Work of the Sierra Club." Very great interest in the work of the club was constantly shown. Notices concerning the lodge were posted in all the camps. Mr. Curry frequently told his guests of the lodge; he also furnished, without charge, all the wood that was needed.
For the first time this summer books were loaned for use outside of the building. Several shelves were reserved and all others were loaned, a deposit being taken to cover the cost of the book. Not a single book was lost, and a great many visitors expressed their appreciation of this kindness through the club's treasury and by the gifts of friends.
There is great need for a new herbarium. Many visitors expressed disappointment that the collection of birds there last year had been removed. The photograph albums are worn out and must be replaced. Albums of the Tuolumne country and the Kings and Kern river cañons are especially desirable. Also a larger sign with more detailed information about the lodge should be placed down by the main road. Novels, and especially books of nature, that friends of the club wish to give to the library will always be greatly appreciated and widely used. There should be two good strong writing-tables placed in the lodge by next
The sale of maps amounted to $5.50; the sale of BULLETINS amounted to $8.00; gift received from Mrs. Adams, Salt Lake City, $1.00. Total, $14.50.
FRED W. MORRISON, Custodian
J. N. LE CONTE, Chairman,
R. M. PRICE,
MARION RANDALL PARSONS,
Chairman .Secretary .Treasurer
RESULT OF ELECTION IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA SECTION
(To serve two years commencing November 15, 1916)
Mr. Chas. J. Fox, Los Angeles.....
Mr. Phil. S. Bernays, Los Angeles..
Mr. H. E. Bailey, Los Angeles
Mrs. Henry Braun, Glendale
Mr. Homer P. Earle, South Pasadena
Mr. Ernest Dawson, Los Angeles
Mr. Everett S. Shepardson, Los Angeles*
Dr. Geo. A. White, Santa Barbara
* Died December, 1916.
Report of the Treasurer for the Year Ended May 6, 1916
To the Board of Directors of the Sierra Club:
The accounts of the Sierra Club for the year ended May 6, 1916, are set forth in the following schedules, which are respectfully submitted for your approval. MARION RANDALL PARSONS,
Balance May 6, 1916, in Savings Union Bank & Trust Co.....$ 249.14
REPORT OF 1916 OUTING
The standard of excellence of recent annual outings has been so high that each year the Outing Committee has been apprehensive that it would not be able to live up to its past record. However, the opinion was unanimously expressed, at the close of the 1916 outing into the Kern and Kings River regions, that the trip was the finest that the club had ever undertaken.
The party left the train at Springville and camped the first night near Smith & Wilson's summer resort in a beautiful pine forest. The next