Souled Out: Reclaiming Faith and Politics After the Religious Right

Front Cover
Princeton University Press, 2008 - 251 pages

The religious and political winds are changing. Tens of millions of religious Americans are reclaiming faith from those who would abuse it for narrow, partisan, and ideological purposes. And more and more secular Americans are discovering common ground with believers on the great issues of social justice, peace, and the environment. In Souled Out, award-winning journalist and commentator E. J. Dionne explains why the era of the Religious Right--and the crude exploitation of faith for political advantage--is over.


Based on years of research and writing, Souled Out shows that the end of the Religious Right doesn't signal the decline of evangelical Christianity but rather its disentanglement from a political machine that sold it out to a narrow electoral agenda of such causes as opposition to gay marriage and abortion. With insightful portraits of leading contemporary religious figures from Rick Warren and Richard Cizik to John Paul II and Benedict XVI, Dionne shows that our great religions have always preached a broad message of hope for more just human arrangements and refused to be mere props for the powers that be. Dionne also argues that the new atheist writers should be seen as a gift to believers, a demand that they live up to their proclaimed values and embrace scientific and philosophical inquiry in a spirit of "intellectual solidarity."


Written in the tradition of Reinhold and H. Richard Niebuhr, Souled Out will help change how we think and talk about religion and politics in the post-Bush era.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - nmele - LibraryThing

Like E.J. Dionne, I am a liberal Catholic, so the heart of this book, his two chapters on Catholicism, moved me. But I liked all of what he had to say about the role of faith in American politics and ... Read full review

Contents

Is Religion Conservative or Progressive? Or Both?
25
Why the Culture War Is the Wrong War Religion Values and American Politics
45
What Are the Values Issues? Economics Social Justice and the Struggle over Morality
71
Selling Religion Short When Ideology Is Not Enough
92
John Paul Benedict and the Catholic Future
126
What Happened to the Seamless Garment? The Agony of Liberal Catholicism
151
Solidarity Liberty and Religions True Calling
183
Notes
205
Acknowledgments
227
Index
235
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

E. J. Dionne Jr. is a syndicated columnist for the Washington Post, a regular political analyst on National Public Radio, a senior fellow at the Brookings Institution, and a professor at Georgetown University. His books include the best-selling Why Americans Hate Politics (Simon & Schuster), which won the Los Angeles Times book prize and was nominated for the National Book Award.

Bibliographic information