Page images
PDF
EPUB

property. Specified articles of personal property amounting to about $1500 and wages to the amount of $25.

Mississippi.-Homestead to the value of $2000, but not over 160 acres if in the country. Personal property consisting of certain articles in the country, and to the value of $250 in towns. Wages of $100 per month to head of family, $20 to others.

Missouri.—Homestead to the value of $3000 in cities and $1500 in country and towns. Personal property consisting of certain specified articles not to exceed in value $300, including ninety per cent of wages.

Montana.—Homestead to the value of $2500. Specified articles of personal property and wages for thirty days.

Nebraska.—Homestead to the value of $2000. Personal property not exceeding $500, but not in addition to homestead, and wages for sixty days.

Nevada.-Homestead to the value of $5000. Specified articles of personal property and wages not to exceed $50 earned in month process is issued.

New Hampshire.-Homestead to the value of $500. Certain specified articles of personal property and wages to the amount of $20 except as against debts for necessaries.

New Jersey.-Homestead to the value of $1000 if advertised and recorded according to law. Personal property to the amount of $200 and wearing apparel, also all wages.

New Mexico.—Homestead to the value of $1000. Personal property consisting of certain specific articles and $500 when party does not own homestead. Wages for three months, except in certain specific cases.

New York.-Homestead to the value of $1000 if notice is recorded. Certain specific articles to the head of a family, and personal property in addition to the value of $250, except for purchase price. Wages for sixty days if necessary for the support of the family.

North Carolina.—Homestead to the value of $1000. Personal property to the value of $500, and sixty days' wages if necessary for the support of the family.

North Dakota.—Homestead to the value of $5000. Personal property to the value of $1000 to the head of the family residing in the state. Wages not exempt.

Ohio.-Homestead to the value of $1000. Certain specific articles of personal property. Wages for three months if necessary for the support of the family.

Oklahoma.—Homestead consisting of 160 acres in the country, or one acre in city or town. Personal property consisting of certain specific articles. Wages for ninety days to the head of a family.

Oregon.—Homestead to the value of $1500, not to be less than twenty acres in the country or one lot in city or town. Personal property consisting of certain specific articles, and wages for thirty days if necessary for the support of the family.

Pennsylvania.—Real or personal property to the value of $300, and all wages.

Rhode Island. Household furniture to the value of $300, tools and books to the value of $300, and library of professional men. Wages to the amount of $10, except as against debts for necessaries.

South Carolina.—Homestead to the value of $1000. Personal property to the value of $500. Wages for sixty days if there is a family depending on them for support.

South Dakota.—Homestead consisting of 160 acres in the country or one acre in city or town, to the value of $5000. Personal property to the value of $750, to the head of a family, and $300 to a single person not the head of a family. No exemptions against purchase price. Wages for sixty days if necessary for support of family.

Tennessee.-Homestead to the value of $1000. Certain specific articles of personal property. $30 in wages.

Texas.—Homestead consisting of 200 acres in country, or city lot to the value of $5000. Certain specific articles of personal property. Current wages for personal services.

Utah.-Homestead to the value of $1500, and $500 additional for wife and $250 for each child. Certain specific articles of personal property not exceeding $1000, and one half of wages for thirty days, but not to be less than $30.

Vermont.—Homestead to the value of $500. Certain specific articles of personal property, and wages to the amount of $10.

Virginia.-Homestead to the value of $2000. Certain specific articles of personal property and one month's wages, not to exceed $50.

Washington.-Homestead to the value of $2000 if declaration is filed. Certain specific articles of personal property, and in the case of a householder $1000 in addition. Wages to the amount of $100 if family is dependent thereon.

West Virginia.—Homestead to the value of $1000. Personal property, including wages, to the amount of $200. , Wisconsin.—Homestead consisting of one fourth acre in town or forty acres in the country. Certain specific articles of personal property, not to exceed $200 in value. Wages for three months, not exceeding $60 a month.

Wyoming.--Homestead to the value of $1500. Personal property to the value of $800 for a married man, and $300 for a single man. Wages not to exceed $100.

STATUTE OF FRAUDS In the following states the statute of frauds is not in force: Alabama, Delaware, Illinois, Kentucky, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia.

The statute is not in force when contract is to be performed within one year, in Kansas.

In the following states and territories, sale of goods, wares and merchandise, to the value of $30, must be in writing: Arkansas, Indian Territory, Maine, Missouri, New Jersey.

State in which such amount is $33: New Hampshire.
State in which such amount is $40: Vermont.

States and territories in which such amount is $50: Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan,

Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New York,
North Dakota, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota,
Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

Over $50: Oklahoma.
Over $200: California, Idaho, Montana, Utah.

Over $500; must be proved by a witness and cor, roborating testimony: Louisiana.

States and territories in which any value must be in writing: Arizona, Florida, Iowa, New Mexico.

CHATTEL MORTGAGES The following extracts show the statutory provisions as to chattel mortgages in the different states and territories:

Alabama.-Must be recorded in the office of the probate judge where the mortgagor resides and also where the property is located. Remains in force as long as the debt. No renewal necessary. If the property is moved to another county, the mortgage should be re corded there within three months. Is not valid as to third parties on a stock of merchandise remaining in the possession of the mortgagor. Is not valid as to third parties on after acquired property.

Arizona.-Must be filed in the office of the recorder where the mortgagor resides and where the property is located. No renewal is necessary. Is not valid as to third parties on stock of merchandise remaining in possession of mortgagor nor on after acquired property.

Arkansas.-Must be filed or recorded in the office of the recorder where the mortgagor resides. If record

ed, is good for the life of the debt, but in case of exten• sion by partial payment, these payments must be re

corded. If it is filed, it is valid for one year and must be renewed within thirty days preceding the expiration of one year. Is valid as to third parties on stock of merchandise remaining in possession of the mortgagor, provided he acts as agent for the mortgagee when sales are made. Is valid as to third parties on after acquired property if the mortgage provides therefor.

California.—Must be recorded in the office of the recorder where the mortgagor resides and where the prop

erty is located. Remains in force during the life of the debt. No renewal is necessary. If the property is removed to another county, the mortgage should be recorded there within thirty days. Is valid as to third parties on stock of merchandise remaining in possession of the mortgager, but not valid on after acquired property.

Colorado.—Under $300 it may be filed in office of recorder where the property is located. In other cases it must be recorded in the office of the recorder. Remains in force for two years on sums of $2,500 or under, for ive years on sums of $2,500 to $20,000, for ten years on sums of $20,000 or over. Must be renewed by annual statement showing unpaid amounts remaining due. Mortgagee may take possession any time within thirty days after maturity and mortgage remains valid during that time. It is valid as to third parties on stock of merchandise remaining in possession of the mortgagor if the mortgage so states and the property is applied to the mortgage debt. It is also valid on all after acquired property except merchandise.

Connecticut.-Must be recorded in the town clerk's office where property is located. Only specific articles are subject to mortgage. Need not be renewed. Is not valid as to third parties on stock of merchandise remaining in possession of mortgagor, or on after acquired property.

Delaware.-Must be recorded within ten days in the office of the recorder where property is located. Is valid for three years, at which time it must be renewed. Is valid as to third parties on stock of merchandise remaining in possession of the mortgagor, but is not valid on after acquired property.

District of Columbia.-Must be recorded in the office of the recorder where property is located. Need not be renewed. Is not valid as to third parties on stock of merchandise remaining in possession of the mortgagor, or on after acquired property.

Florida.-Must be recorded in the office of the clerk of the circuit court where the property is located. Need not be renewed. Is not valid as to third parties on stock of merchandise remaining in possession of mortgagor.

Georgia.-Must be recorded in the office of the clerk

« PreviousContinue »